Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lumberjack vs. Ancient Druid's Cybertree

by anv - Jam Entry

Evil demonic druid from outer space is about to use his cybernetic creation and its endless spawn in his latest planet domination scheme.

Being lumberjack, due to your superior skills such as:
- tree cutting,
- beard growing,
- axe swinging,
- taking selfies with your vintage camera,
- being the only guy nearby,
you're the most qualified person to stop him.

Chop down the weeds of corruption and root out the evil before humanity is cut down in its prime!

Or at least heroically die trying.

We recommend playing with volume up for a full, ehrm, "experience".

Instructions:
Control lumberjack with mouse - press or hold LMB to move around and attack enemies.
Kill enemies to fill selfie meter - when full, press RMB to take a photo of yourself and for next 5 seconds block all incoming damage with your giant ego.
(So... technically you control game with TWO BUTTONS! Yay.)

Cybertree - Pinnacle of warfare technology. Indestructible with your puny human tools.
Cyberbomb - Classic Cybertree's weapon of choice, launched in the sky and falling down in deadly rain. Watch out for splash damage!
Cyberseed - Landing on the ground will soon grow into Cybertree Spawn. If you're fast enough, you can chop 'em down while in the air.
Cybertree Spawn - Left unattended will produce more and more bombs. It's your job to cut them down.

Team:
ArtKurkowski - ART
Andrzej FaƂkowski - DEV

Additional credits:
"Killing Bosses" by Gumbel
(http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Gumbel/8-bit_Love_Machine/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#117Humor(Jam)3.63
#161Audio(Jam)3.68
#164Graphics(Jam)4.11
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#321Fun(Jam)3.40
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#627Mood(Jam)3.08

Comments

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

nice graphics

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

I took a selfie while falling over dead and it brought me back to life! Great entry though. Graphics are good, and even stylish, and the sound and music fit perfectly.

psypol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I would recommend that when a selfie is taken you can chop trees with only 1 chop.
also first time played i totally forgot what was the button for selfie, you could remind it when the gauge is full.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Nice game, cool graphics! I like the all around feel of it :)

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47pm

nice idea, fun game, graphics and audio are great

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49pm

It is difficult to click the correct tree if they are close together.

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Very nice graphics. However it was very hard to hit the saplings and the gameplay was overall a little to chaotic for my taste.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:24pm

"Selfie" action looks useless, it's easy to play avoiding to use it. Nice entry following the theme!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27am

Right from the moment I heard "First Chop" I knew I would like this one. The graphics are great, and the sound is excellent. I realize it was probably a glitch, but after I died bombs kept hitting me, and it had a hilarious "hit you while you're down" effect. Even the title is hilarious!

When the trees first popped up I thought maybe it would be like gauntlet. If you expanded the idea, I could see it going in that direction. Excellent job!

Radnap says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Nice graphics, and funny sounds. I don't like the music as much. The game works well. It kind of remind me of South Park and that is cool !

skripteriant says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:32pm

very pretty, and also its cool that it has voice acting.

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Great small game! TREEMENDOUS JOB!

vetch says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:05am

Selfie-immortality mechanic is great, but could use some more visibility when bar is full. Overall, nice one!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Awesome graphics dude!
Cool audio as well.
Overall, it's a nice entry, and a fun game! ;D

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:01pm

The audio was kinda destroying the mood ... :D i couldnt do combos enough to take a selfie :lol: .. i also would suggest a level(stage) based thing instead of survival... :D other than really cool congrats guys ;)

pcmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Giving extra points for the sounds, music graphics and even the catchy description! :D Muhaha!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Liked the graphics, liked the concept, really enjoyed playing this. I like entries like this that make me wonder where your mind went when you read grow, love the creativity!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Funny concept, cool music & sound, nice graphics & animation. Wish there was a bit more variety than clicking trees--maybe some could require multiple hits? Love the Unreal announcer parody.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:17am

Cool game! I enjoyed the tree puns. Overall art was excellent, though the walking and chopping felt a little stiff. Great job, I liked it!

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Great game! Loved the graphics and sound effects. Gameplay is pretty addicting too.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:41pm

This is amazing! i myself love puns, and these most certainly made my day! i almost died laughing at killing spruce.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Nice! I loved the terrible puns :) Nice art and sound, and game is fun!

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:10am

Pro:
+ Nice graphics, music and audio
+ Funny concept
+ The puns were Oakkey
Con:
- Didn't really use Selfie skill
Obs:
o Trees were a bit hard to hit on windows, maybe on android is better?

Great job!

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Fun idea, and very well executed! I did find the 5 seconds of immortality a bit underpowered though.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Really nice concept. Graphic is gorgeous, I enjoy it. Nice job!

abuzreq says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I want a flamethrower , I mean lumberjacks have some,right ?

at the start I tried cutting the seeds but soon it became impractical and I just looked for trees to cut.

I liked the strength given to me in after the selfie .

graphics are good .

again can't I have a dragon breath :P

Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Really smart graphics, and the selfie idea was fun

flakoflak says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:16pm

beside selfies, everything ok.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Really unique, neat game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DUttdjt5uB4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]