Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Harvestown

by richardjs - Compo Entry

Harvestown is an open-ended game about growing a small farming community. There are no defined win or lose conditions. You do not control your villagers directly. Instead, you place farms and houses on the map, and villagers grow food on the farms and live in the houses.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Love it!

tanjent says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Having the command actions on screen would have helped a bit in the beginning, cause I only remembered to build houses and fields :) Really good atmosphere in this one and I really like the style and the whole package. Very impressive work!

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

It is great to play after three days coding. Slow music, everything happen without me. IDLE it's all mine!
Thank you for relax minute!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48am

I like it.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:05am

Nice populous-like game. Kind of annoying that villagers starved to grow trees when they could have been getting themselves food. Liked the music.

Thembi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:38pm

The music only came out of the left ear on my headphones. I planted plenty of fields, but my farmers would apparently rather starve then ever harvest them, haha. One of my dudes got hungry and went on a trip halfway across the map to get to the other side of the river, then came back.

But overall, high marks in innovation.

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:28am

Interesting slow pace mood. Without win/lose it is hard to invest attention though.
The music inspires for a casual-play grow-yer-town game, which runs in the background somewhere. I would like that. :)

broknecho says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:44am

Really great entry for 2 days! That's a pretty big task for that short of time. Was some performance issues around 30 villagers at faster speeds but still great job!

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:14pm

I really enjoyed this! Sim games are the best.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]