Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Archangel

by BeamKirby - Jam Entry

"Archangel" is a game where you play as an angel from the heavens and defeat demons to prevent them from entering the holy land. Using your blade infused with light, vanquish the hellish demons and protect the land of promise! Just remember, even a lone angel can defeat hundreds of villains.

Set high scores to unlock new weapons, including the Red Crescent, Rain Rapier, Earth's Claymore, and the Moon Saber!

You may also use "K" for attacks simply for comfort reasons.

P: Pause!
F2: Restarts the game at any time
F10: Takes a snapshot (saved under C:\Users\<your name>\AppData\Local\Archangel)

DISCLAIMER: The base code for this game was originally made during the Ludum Dare warm-up weekend. Then I found out that the theme was Two Button Controls. So, I updated the game and this is the "final product." I looked at the rules for the Jam and it says that I am allowed to use old base code, so that's what I did. Sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#90Fun(Jam)3.80
#181Overall(Jam)3.71
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21
#468Graphics(Jam)3.55
#579Humor(Jam)2.55
#589Audio(Jam)2.78
#637Mood(Jam)3.07

Comments

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Really impressive work on the art! my only complaint is the way that game maker has an installer, i'd prefer just downloading a .zip

BeamKirby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Thanks! Also, because of your comment, I added a .zip download to the game's page.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

I'll admit, based on the art style and the genre I was expecting to dislike this game, but you've done solid work here.

The stamina on the shots is a really cool feature that really makes this a relatively unique shmup, and the enemy variety forces you to use both attacks consistently. The timing on new enemy types is pretty great, too.

The only nitpick I can think of is that it's a bit difficult to dodge some of the projectile attacks, since they fly at you faster than you can fall/fly out of the way. But you can see them coming so it's still dodgable. Just difficult.

It's a solid game, great work.

fergarram says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05am

The eye reminds me of terraria. I don't like the art.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Nice game, well done!

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Excellent work, I find the mechanics actually work quite well, and make it challenging without being frustrating. Overall, very well done!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24am

Awesome art. Nice work.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:26am

I got 6000 points, got to see a glimpse of the boss. This is much better than flappy bird. i also like the attention to detail with the clouds passing. wow i just saw the snake as i type this, lol. good work!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:26am

Great game! The gameplay is balanced and the difficulty curve feels just right.

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:30am

This game is pretty cool! One of the best uses of two-button controls I've seen, both fingers need to be doing something at the same time! Makes it pretty fun to dodge and attack, which also feels rewarding thanks to the awesome art. Some music would be nice, but the sound effects suit the game well enough. Well done!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:48am

Is the death sound lifted from Mega Man?

BeamKirby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:25am

Huh. No, the death sound is not taken from Mega Man, but it does kinda sound like it! All of the sounds were generated with sfxr. Anyway, thanks for the comments so far.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:00am

Ach, my poor wrist XD

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Sweet entry! Managed to get 12420 before getting killed - loved the different enemies and the balancing getting harder over time. SO MANY FIREBALLS! :D Good job! Fit the theme perfectly too.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:51pm

You concept is very nice and i liked the art ^^

But it reaaally lacked of music in my humbly opinion

carlsommer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Good enemies and controls worked well, it was also nice having a couple of different attacks available.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Very fun game, I like cut enemies in slices ! The game is well-balanced: at the start easy, but become harder with the time. Well done guys ! ^^

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Funny characters) Nice work.

Shivur says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:43am

Very fun game!

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:44am

Not a fan of these types of games, but this one felt solid in controls and curve (altho I did not live long) and had an interesting theme. :)

nucleartide says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:59am

Really fun game. Doing two things (instead of just staying afloat like in Angry Birds) is challenging and very entertaining.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]