Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Santa Delivery Service

by RuinWalker - Compo Entry

Think delivering presents is an easy job? Well, think again!

Santa Claus races over billions of rooftops every year, delivering presents to all the boys, girls and adults in the world! And this is not a small feat, as he runs the risk to fall of these rooftops to a painful face first in the snow. Now, Santa is going to need your help this year. You see, his reindeers all caught the flu, and the only moving sleigh jumps up every few seconds! Santa wants YOU to control his sleigh's speed, and safely guide him over the rooftops!


How To Play

Santa's sleigh is enchanted and jumps up in the air every few seconds. Watch the jingle bells at the bottom of the screen for when this will happen!
You control the speed of Santa's sleigh! Press Left to slow down and Right to speed up. Remember, the faster you go, the farther you jump!


NOTE

To exit while in game, use Alt + F4.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#188Graphics3.73
#382Humor2.58
#498Innovation3.13
#573Theme3.62
#678Mood2.69
#862Fun2.47
#866Overall2.70

Comments

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:46am

Well that was dumb.
I can't even get past the second house. I expected when the bells chimed, they would actually chime. An audio cue would certainly help me to line up the jumps properly rather than looking at the bottom of the screen the whole time.
And how are you supposed to speed up enough to make the jumps if you're constantly slowing down to wait for the next bell chime? The houses aren't long enough to afford you this timing.
Nice job on the art though, I can see where the effort in this game went.

dvdking says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:08pm

yeah.. this was too hard, probably if the jump would happen more often it would be easier, probably longer houses, i don't know.. it clearly needed more tuning and polishing.
Graphics are great looking of course.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:05pm

I love the concept but actually landing the jump when the bells chime was a little too tricky. Shame there's no sound but the art was pretty!

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Too hard to watch at the bells same time you're jumping. I liked the graphics though!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Good artwork, nic game

vidarn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Poor santa, I crashed a lot! XD
Great job on the graphics and mood. The gameplay could use a difficulty tweak, as others have pointed out. Overall though, well done!

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:02pm

As others pointed out the game is way to hard but your graphics are awesome and in theory I really like how you're using the bell to make up for the lack of a third jump button, you just have to work on the balancing.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Hard game. Not sure how to balance better though. I guess I'm just bad with timings... The graphics are nice, and the game seems polished enough for LD with a really well done mood (only missing a music). Overall a good entry :)

mar3k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36pm

I agree with the comments, the game's got a great concept, but it is way to hard to line up the speed properly, I did not get far :D

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Amazing arts. I love the ring bells mechanic at the bottom. But the control seems to be a little bit tricky.

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

The graphics are great and it's a really cool idea, but it's a Little bit too hard.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Very hard from start, maybe too hard.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Like others have said, the concept is nice, but the game is way too hard to be enjoyable. Nice graphics, though!

Capitals says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09pm

It needs a better ramp. Try to make it easy at the beginning. I like the concept. It looked pretty. Just it's very hard. Good Luck!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Nice concept!

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42am

Very tricky !

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Good graphics but I guess Santa isn't coming this year as ad as I play :)) Lol you sadistical creatures

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Very cool concept, and the graphical style was awesome! The mechanics were a little finicky, it took some time to get used to it, and it was still hard to get the timing right. But I still think it was a solid concept, having some audio cues would be great to make it easy to tell when the bells are about to chime.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:52pm

The concept is nice but the game's dificulty is absurd, I can't even get past the second house

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:05pm

There are pretty potential with this mechanics. if you could lower the difficulty a bit (it grows too quickly) and add more content like scores and music, i think this will be a very fun game.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12pm

+ Good gameplay.
+ Neat graphics.

- Lack of audio/music.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:57am

Great art, but game is very difficult.

Ampera says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Too hard. Neat idea, but just not humanly possible.

Louspirit says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Hard game but original gameplay. Would appreciated sound in it

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:13am

Superb art, and gameplay-wise it's an interesting take on the runner genre, but -man- is it hard. Trying to line myself up for the next chime is next to impossible. Made it to the third roof, but no further than that. I'd love to see a version of this with more standard controls - it's got a really charming look to it.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Pretty tough controls, I couldn't get past the second house. The bells chiming could use a sound effect and music would be nice. The graphics were nice. Overall needs work on the difficulty.

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:34am

Looks really nice! The idea is great too, but as so many said before, the difficulty is too high. Learning a pattern of jumping is ok, but you made it too hard too soon i guess.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]