Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

HeXor

by Sosolol261 - Jam Entry

HeXor
[A Real Time Hexagon Tile Based Strategy Game]

This game let's you command the fight between malware and antimalware.
You being on the antivirus side, your job is to defend the PC and recover every chip that was infected.

Theme: GROWING
You stop the virus's territory from growing while expanding yours.

The main idea of this game was actually a virus vs. immunesystem scenario but the textures looked so futuristic, we had to change it.

Have fun playing this game! Please rate fair and leave constructive critism.

The OS/X Version has not been tested.

[[0.1.1 UPDATE]]
BUG FIXES:
Fixed bug where updating and keyboard controls wouldn't work if you have played the tutorial before.
Fixed bug where music wouldn't play after the first song finished.
Fixed bug where the Debugging Tower wouldn't damage any cells.
Fixed bug where units couldn't be placed even if the requirements were met.

Tweaks:
Tweaked chip regen rate from 10 to 5.
Tweaked Debugging Tower's attack from 10 to 15.

[[NOT NAMED UPDATE]]
Fixed even more bugs and tweaked even more stuff.

This should fix the game getting stuck at ~90%.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#354Innovation(Jam)3.35
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#474Graphics(Jam)3.54
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#672Humor(Jam)2.35
#730Mood(Jam)2.95

Comments

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

tried to run it on OS/X, but (after enabling permissions to run any apps), double clicking on the icon, nothing happens :(

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

@walaber None of us in the team had mac computers, so we didn't know if it would work or not
I'm going to try and make another mac build

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Didn't work on Windows 10. I downloaded and extracted to a new folder (leaving all files intact). Got this error: http://imgur.com/vRJUpsA

evloss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Same issue as matthewd673 happened on Windows 8

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07pm

@evloss @mathewd673 @walaber New builds should be up. Hopefully no errors this time, though i still doubt that the OSX one will work :(

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Error on loading, same issue as matthewd673, Win 8.1.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06am

Works great on windows 7, I hope you resolved the other OS errors because the game is really fun to play and challenging too. Good job :)

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14am

Mac OSX here: still a broken archive. When running the .love bundle directly using love2d, I get a stacktrace:

main.lua:29: module 'src.UI.winlosescreen' not found
no file 'src/UI/winlosescreen.lua in LOVE game directories

Evannex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42am

Okay so works great for me on Windows 10, but ironically the debugging tower seems to be bugged! :D You can't place it, even after having the prerequisite. And you can't destroy it if the enemy builds it.

Very fun game though, regardless, so great job!

Suui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47am

Nice game, incredibly big and well done for the time given, however..

After 15 minutes I was near the enemy and couldn't defeat it, stuck at 94% until I gave up at 25 min because I spammed the whole map with towers and couldn't win.

I wasn't able to build the Debugging tower also. :(

Great work!

Odyssey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36am

I'm a developer for this game. Thank you for your feedback, the debugging tower bug was overlooked in our rush and we fell short in that area. We're already trying to fix it now.

If you want, come back later and play to see if you enjoy it.

As for the OSX bug: none of us own a mac it's highly suggested that you download Love2D(very lightweight) and run the source through it. Thanks for your patience with us!

Odyssey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53am

I found the bug and it's because it actually wants you to have 10 or the prerequisites. It'll be fixed once I can logon to the main account

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07am

We are horribly sorry for the huge variety of inconvenient bugs. We still hope that you can look over our mistakes and enjoy the game!

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

The windows build has been fixed! Still not sure about the OS/X version since nobody in our team has an OS/X device.

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16am

This was really nice!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42am

Nice game overall, unfortunately, after a while, it seems I can't complete the level : I'm stuck at around 10% zone remaining for the enemy, and it keeps popping towers right after I destroy them.

Seems like a lot of work went in though !

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56am

The Difficulty is being tweaked. Thank you for your review :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02am

I like the idea, although it moved a little slow for my taste. clever unite names though

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07am

You can speed up the time if you want to. See more in the tutorial. @Weeping Rupee

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31am

I unfortunately cannot play the game, as after numerous tries, the little blue bar never progresses, and so I get no ticks. I tried spacebar, tried speeding and slowing the game. Please fix, I'd love to try it!

victorfisac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:47am

Nice game! So interesting and good graphics

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52am

@Bloodyaugust We are sorry to tell you that probably, that bug won't be fixed for quite some time. An alternate way to play the game, is to download Love2D www.love2d.org, rename the .zip to .love and running it.

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

Nice concept but it gets stuck at 20% to 80%

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

I have a thing for nice menus and this is one of the nicest ones I have seen so far :)

The game is very complex for being a Ludum Dare game, It took me a little while to understand and read everything, but once you get it, it's a lot of fun!

The visuals of the game are very nice and coherent and it just feels like a full game.

Great job and an amazing entry!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19pm

An excellent entry for the time it was made in. It did crash a lot though :P

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:51am

Run on windows 10 fails every time with this error:
https://i.imgur.com/UPGXgBR.png

Same error running regular and as admin.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:13am

a very interesting basis for a game, but I feel like it needs a lot more work. I didn't feel like I had any interesting decisions past building some economy first. Once I did that, I just dumped buildings on the board as fast as I could click them cause I had no money issues.
Possibly having buildings have a maintenance cost would provide some choice, and adjacency to other buildings for compounded effects.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:16am

This was a very fun game. I played a full game and won. I didn't care for the text heavy tutorial, but the game is easy enough to pick up. Have to get more of this game....would be a great mobile game.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:44am

Really neat sort of tug of war tower defense like mechanics. Art style was great. set a neat mood.

Overall pretty good job!!

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10am

Played this game from start to finish. You can be proud of this. I had a lot of fun. Well done.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48am

Great job, except for the music. The music itself is very good, but doesn't match the game well. It's just too "Disco" made me headache when I trying to think, I have to turn it off to keep playing.
Other than the music, it's all good, even incredibly polished in the time given. I haven't meet any bugs, lucky me :)

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09pm

We've tried to make our own calm music and asked many many people around and as they couldn't help us, we had to go with the easy option. Thank you for your review @qwerto

mahham says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16pm

@SpringCabal That's because you denied the game using the internet. It uses a library called lovebird for debugging in a browser that needs internet access.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Wow, a really solid game! It took a few moments to figure out how to play and I wasn't aware I would move the camera around so I was very confused about why red was doing so well despite my screen being mostly blue. I won in the end, though! :)

csanyk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:34am

This looks really cool!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:09am

Really awesome game! I was very confused at first, and I had to mute the music, but once I got rolling, it was great!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:43am

little hard to figure out what is happening - but felt like a lot was there so going to revisit again - nice effort

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Nice game, I like what you did with the UI. I don't know why but at first I was persuaded to be the red one and therefore wasn't able to build anything hahaha. I feel the game need more balancing and more explanation as to how cells are conquered but impressive ob anyway !

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:34pm

After some tries/experimenting/figuring out stuff I finally understood and it great. Very interesting idea and the whole thing was very effective! Great job! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]