Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Burgeoning

by uthamon - Compo Entry

81 years of life shown in symbolic way.

Sensory delight about simple, yet brutal nature of life choices and aging. Those who crave these glitchy-looking, seizure-giving pieces of artsy software found in the wastes of internet will propably like this. I tried to achieve these "aggresive" audiovisuals. Complete 9 levels by falling down, NOT MISSING any line of platforms and making decisions.

It's my second Ludum Dare and first Compo. As I thought, it was way harder. Around 25 minutes before submission hour I noticed gamebreaking glitch, of course it was nerve-wracking. As the last time, I'm hyper excited to play Your games, especially since it's 2 themes this time.

NOTE: If you're playing with resolution lower that 1080p, I recommend using windowed version. Scaling is optimised for 1920x1080, and somehow there are "artifacts" when you switch it during the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#136Mood3.57
#177Innovation3.69
#317Audio3.00
#320Overall3.44
#368Humor2.62
#397Theme3.83
#554Fun3.06
#598Graphics2.89

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38am

very fun, deeeeep

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

nice game dude.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44pm

My Avast antivirus complains about this.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Nice game! Made it to third level and it kinda hard ... lol. Will play it later.
I find music a little weird and annoying.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Game was freaking me out. Interesting concept.

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Gets deep in both ways. The mood and theme are well selected, although what I enjoyed the most was the mechanics. Great "last" level, I hoped it lasted longer.

intXparts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28pm

I love how abstract the game is, while tying in with the two themes. The music, graphics and gameplay all fit together really well. Excellent work!

knason says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

really interesting concept. I had fun playing but at the same time the game was freaking me out :-)

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Wow pretty interesting concept :)

purrpurr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

It did get fairly heavy fast in the later levels. A very unique mood was created while adhering to the themes brilliantly. A gripping concept as deep as the falls you make in it =P. I liked it, though I'm not sure what to exactly make of it.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47pm

This is incredibly good. Love the concept. Loved how the death zones started to fall on you near the end, and all the meaning it carried. 5 stars on mood for sure.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26pm

very interesting concept and game but I found the music a bit too agressive.

BeamKirby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:06am

Well, I'm afraid I can't play this game. Avast! freaks out every time I try to download it, so I tried disabling the shields temporarily. Then I re-enabled the shields and tried running the game and Avast! continued to set off alarms. I don't know why Avast! considers this game to be a viral threat, but I think you should look into this.

uthamon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:52am

Hey @BeamKirby

I'm sorry that Avast shows You these. I downloaded the game on 2 other PCs of my buddies, and antivirus programs installed there didn't show any problems. Heck, I'm writing this comment from PC in my Uni's library (ESET is here), download the game here, and there were no problems indicated too. Avast has "reputation" for freaking out, but I'm still going to look into this with next thing I upload. Propably I'll just install Avast on my old laptop and there I'll be additionaly checking files before uploading them.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:12pm

A neat little game. This is the type of game where I begin to feel like I'm in a strange zone, which was only supported by the strange yet fitting music. Overall it is quite well composed, however I feel like the messages on the blocks could have had more meaning. They probably do and maybe I'm just being blind :p Well done! :D

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:41am

Wild! Certainly an interesting game, captures a very hectic mood.. but maybe that was the point?

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:41pm

well that was quite an experience, but it's too hard to understand the deepness of it. You should search for a better way to show the consequences of random choises.
Anyway, I liked the thing

berkano says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Absolutely stunning, brutal gameplay and nightmarish sounds & music - top job!!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:53am

Woah. Amazing take on the themes. A good challenge, and definitely near the top of the pile for mood. Great job!

Sound and visuals fit together great, too.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Interesting. Simple gameplay but more focus on a message. Took me a few passes to realize you had to fill up the bubble though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]