Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Runes of the Kin-Tree

by architect404 - Jam Entry

Memorise and match pairs of runes to help the Kin-Tree grow and blossom!

Everything made by myself from scratch within 48 hours... but unfortunately made across sunday and monday so this will be in the jam instead of comp.

Engine: Game Maker Studio
Graphics: Krita
Sounds: Pro Tools

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#256Audio(Jam)3.48
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#317Graphics(Jam)3.79
#456Innovation(Jam)3.22
#679Humor(Jam)2.33
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Wow, this game was seriously fun. :D.. I liked the mechanics.. I noticed that I could remember maximum of three rune pairs per round, so in that sense it was a bit depressing that the system beat me every time. lol.. then I started guessing and sometimes it worked, sometimes it didnt! yay! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

A memory game, quite cool! A bit static, but has a chill mood, feeling enhanced by the music. I like the graphics and the colour pallete, is fancy. We also have a memory game, but we chose the funky side :) Cheers! Stefan (Tyrants.not.found.team)

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49pm

just like maunovaha i couldnt memorize things better than 3 or 4 pairs ... really interesting other than that! Smart idea for 24-48 hours.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Turns out I'm pretty good at this.

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Yup u! That's what I'm talking about! Like!

Osaft says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Brilliant

tobia88 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice graphic, i'm fully involved in the game atmosphere, well done!

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I played several rounds until I finally good enough to grow my tree all the way. Nice work!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:46pm

I love memory use-related games so I really enjoyed this!! Good job! Tho it closed all of a sudden when i won? Im not sure if it's supposed to do that

architect404 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:52pm

@equiposalchicha - the sudden close is likely due to unfortunate button placement; if you go for another match after the winning match there's a good chance you'll hit the exit button as it's appearing, a bad design choice I noticed too late.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Nice concept though I suck at memory games. Was frustrating that the runes dissapeared when you got it wrong, as this seemed to work against me and stop me from scoring much at all. A nice little game nevertheless.

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Great game in all points!!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:32am

Nice challenge! Took me a while to get familiar enough with the runes to recognize them, but good fun after that - great mood set by the sound and graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]