Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

JellyPirates

by Blobby101 - Jam Entry

Ahoy! JellyPirates is a simple game where gelatinous privateers swashbuckle their way across the high seas!
Pick a destination from your treasure map and set sail, but be warned: other pirates occupy the waters!

Controls:

A or left to jump left
D or right to jump right

Land on the button on a cannon to fire it, cannons aim automatically.
Use the mouse to pick a destination on the map.

Have fun!

-----------

This was another entry that was rushed towards the end - I think I need to work on my time management! As with last time, this was developed with EdgeOwl (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/EdgeOwl/), who you have to thank for the art. Unfortunately he had to drop out after the second day, so if the art quality goes visibly down-hill, that's my fault! xD

I think like a lot of people, we had to drop quite a few of the ideas we had planned as the weekend went on (like multiple player controlled ships, ship customization and the JellyStoreTM!), many of which were implemented to a limited extent, but they could all find their way into a post-compo version at least.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#166Humor(Jam)3.41
#424Audio(Jam)3.18
#497Innovation(Jam)3.17
#505Graphics(Jam)3.48
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#681Theme(Jam)3.50
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#809Fun(Jam)2.77

Comments

theSand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

its was a bit buggy. textures started flying xD

Miltage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Seems like a fun idea, but my experience was buggy beyond belief. I had pirates shooting into the sky, landing on things that weren't there and ships sinking for no reason.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Definite points for humor, I love the way the pirates wobble. I found the jumps to be a little sluggish, but this could be on purpose because they're made of jelly? I also hit one of my own pirates off the boat once....oops.

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

What the hell is this ? lol
It was fun though I didn't understand what I was meant to do. A fun little sandbox I'd say :)

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Hmm... this game has some great ideas and features but the mechanics are kinda wonky. I love the idea of a physics based naval battle. I think you got the boats rocking about down pretty well, but the jelly cannonballs seemed to never be spawning in the correct place. This made it difficult to feel like I was actually controlling the flow of the game. I had some pretty funny moments though, like when my ship was rocked way up ontop of a rubbber ducky and I had to move my pirate over to counterbalance it.
I really liked the wobbly effect on the graphics and the generally clean looking style.
Good work, just needs to be cleaned up a bit gameplay wise.

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Fun but hard to control. I guess that's the purpose though. The graphics and feel of the game is nice.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:38am

Thanks for the feedback, guys! Most of those issues came from adding features with about 2 minutes left, then packaging it without testing properly... My bad xD

I'll do a quick bug fix that makes it possible to play more than 1 game in a row.

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:41am

Reverse recoil FTW!

Tselmek says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Cool visuals and nice audio but the gameplay itself was either or both buggy and confusing.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Very strange game, hard to understand ^^' But the idea is not bad, and GOD I LOVE SO MUCH THIS MUSIC !

xWarZonex says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Really awesome visual effects, I didn't understand the gameplay, but it was still fun.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:57pm

The physics are making the game hard to play ( jump sends pirates in the air for too much time in my opinion ) and the other pirates on my boat were all on one side which made the boat not very stable. I couldn't manage to beat even the first enemy. The music was nice though and I like the jelly aspect of the canon ball. =)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:25pm

The music is pretty nice, and I always appreciate when someone makes a physics-based game. But I must say that the game felt a bit sluggish, since my pirate kept bumping into his crewmates, and the jumps didn't feel very responsive; besides that though, nice game overall!

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:25am

I kept jumping my own pirates to their doom, haha! I think I would have preferred to be able to control my pirate better in mid-air, even if that's a bit unrealistic.

Really nice job implementing the physics, and I love the music!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:39am

+ graphic is realy cool
+ good atmosphere

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]