Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Toy Garden

by Team>Nice - Jam Entry

Game made by SpartanIceCream and Flapper Dog for our 3rd completed Ludum Dare. Due to school there is not as much done as we had hoped but we got it done. Feel free to comment your best times.

Description:

Collect and grow plants to earn money until you can buy and grow the golden flower.

Controls:

WASD - Movement
Mouse - Look Around
Space Bar - Plant Selected Seed
QE - Switch Selected Plant
Escape - Unlock Cursor and open upgrades menu
G - Sell hotkey
B - Buy hotkey

How To play:

In the upper left of the screen you can see the number of seeds you have and how many of that plant you have collected. Collecting a plant will yield one seed and on of that plant. Some plants take longer than others to grow. You can replant the seed and sell the collected plant for money. You can buy more seeds with your money to expand your farm. Hitting escape will bring up the upgrades that you can buy to greatly increase the money you make. After you have collected $999 you can buy the golden flower which when harvested will win the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#254Mood(Jam)3.56
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#532Innovation(Jam)3.12
#632Overall(Jam)3.20
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#764Theme(Jam)3.36
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

I love how cute this game is <3

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Very well done! I love the game. One thing I would suggest is that you should add some kind of critter that is trying to eat your plants or something.

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Wow, i'm impressed, those 23 minutes just flyed by, very soothing game, the music is a perfect fit. Very well done !

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09pm

very well done mood ! the graphics feels very nice

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

OK, seriously, there's something weirdly captivating about this game and I cannot figure out what.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14am

Pretty fun. A bit slow in the beginning, until you have a bunch of good flowers. I think InfinitySquaredGames is right, you need something that eats your plants or hinders your progress.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:56pm

A very nice experience. I'd complain about the slow progress, but it looks like it's meant to be slow and relaxing.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Very nice graphics, and a cool idea. Some reason to explore more after you get the flowers would be nice, but otherwise a good game!

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:10pm

I don't know why, but I love being a tiny thing in a large environment. Very cute graphics and concept! :D
I won in 30 mins; it was a bit slow in the beginning, but there was a bunch to do near the end.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]