Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Whack-a-Mouse

by Xitavos - Jam Entry

Theme: 2 Button Controls

- Coloured buttons will appear from the holes.
- Click the coloured buttons with the correct mouse button/s to gain points.
- LMB: Left Mouse Button
- RMB: Right Mouse Button
- BOTH: Both left and right mouse buttons at the same time
- Clicking a button with the wrong mouse button will deduct points.
- If there are no more empty holes, you lose!

Just a simple game because I didn't have much time this weekend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#304Theme(Jam)3.91
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#732Overall(Jam)3.09
#768Innovation(Jam)2.74
#806Humor(Jam)2.00
#965Mood(Jam)2.32
#984Graphics(Jam)2.17
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

Nice work! Did you mean to remove audio from your rate list? Or was it humor you ment to take out? ;)

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

Nice concept, might have worked better with a smaller grid maybe.

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

Fun!

Xitavos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

Yeah, audio isn't there because it's just music I grabbed from a royalty free site :)

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

super fun and good music but its kinda impossible after a while which sort of ruins it.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

Resfreshing, simple yet fun take on the two button concept, nicely made :) I think next time you could slow down how quickly the difficulty ramps up, this game gets hard fast!

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

What I liked:
- Very tactile and satisfying game play
- Visuals clearly convey which button to press
- The panic and intensity when the board starts to fill up

What I think could be improved:
- Difficulty ramps up too fast IMO, it seems like it would be impossible to get much further than 90

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Extremely hard to play with a Mac trackpad xD (I just could not figure out a way to do both left click and right click at the same time)

Except from that, obviously I like the concept since our games are somewhat similar and the execution is quite nice, definitely trying it on a smaller grid (3x3) could be interesting (and keep the difficulty by increasing the pace ?)

Good job

MrAmlice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:03am

Good concept. Well executed. Difficulty seems to ramp up uncontrollably though. I'm personally not a fan of games that force an uncontested defeat on me (feels like that's the case here). Good Job all in all though.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:07am

No way to get past 90 and it takes only seconds get there :(
Could have been very addictive if the difficulty wasn't growing that fast.

During the game, the music starts with some lateness.

Nice concept. Nice take on the theme.
Good job :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24am

People turn into shit? I loved the concept :D Well done guys

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Very nice take on this age-old game, combines well with the theme. Fun thing to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]