Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Left-leaning

by tayl1r - Compo Entry

You control a car that auto-accelerates and you only have two-buttons to control it!

* Press Left Cursor to turn Left
* Press Z to toot your horn.

Wait a minute, that doesn't leave us enough buttons for turning right... Maybe a dedicated horn button was a bad idea? Well, I'm sure you'll think of something.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
Fun4.35
#11Overall4.29
#48Humor3.81
#58Innovation3.99
#124Theme4.15
#127Graphics3.90

Comments

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25pm

I made it to the last level but I have to give up before I snap. I hit both red switches and crashed it right at the end. Good game. Original idea and fun.

thomz12 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Really fun game! love the art style.

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Great art, very challenging game!

cgriff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

This is literally my favourite Ludum Dare game ever. There I said it.

adamwoolridge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Super fun game! Great pick up and play. Neat art style :)

Conk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

AWESOME! The feeling of accomplishment after that last level was intense, amazing design with the different surfaces, really made for some good levels. Brilliant!

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Hilarious use of theme, really tight controls and a surprisingly robust amount of content.

I love how all the little cars start to pile up as you keep dying. It was tough at times but luckily skillful use of the honk button got me through to the very end.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Everyone has to play this game. I love the silliness of the concept and the beautiful execution; the last level had me trying over and over until I beat it and it was so satisfying when I did. Amazing job!

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37pm

BEST GAME EVER!!! It was just so much fun, and the graphics were great!

Hegemege says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Managed to beat the last level, was sort of hoping for a stats screen in the end (I probably destroyed 100's of cars lol)

Not sure what the red goals did, but I hit most of them. Good challenge

rogual says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43pm

You get my first 5 for humor, just fort the idea of a car where the two buttons 'are turn left' and 'toot horn'.

Game was a bit laggy for me (firefox/win) but very playable.

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Awesome job, great fun

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Amazing. So much fun and addicting. I like how different surface affect the car motion and add slipperiness. Very well done!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Top marks for FUN on this! nice work :D

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Frustrating, but in a good way. Also I like the levels that have hard mode exits; you don't get anything for them, but I gave myself some victory toots on the next level if I got it.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Going through the red/yellow gates means you'll skip the next level, but hitting them is much harder than the level you're skipping!

Verrazano says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04pm

If you weren't tooting your horn every run, you were playing the game wrong.

z3 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16am

Nice and challenger game. I could completed but it wasn´t easy. xp
I couldn´t understand is the difference between the red and black goal of the race. I imagined that it could be in the difference for going up to the next levels.
I think there could be some differences in the difficulty of the upper levels, because I felt that there was some levels more difficult before the ones that where before. I think is just changing the order.
Besides that everything was great.
Nice idea to use the horn x)

emmes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42am

Super fun, but making me very aggressive after a while!
I love the way the crashed cars stay in the arena...

In fact this is a one-button game.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Another last-level loser here.
I think it's really fun and simple. Maybe you could get rid of horn mechanic and add a left turn instead. But I know, no time. Great job. Only thing changed could be colors and graphical style but not necessary.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28pm

No way, it's two buttons! The horn is very important!

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Congrats for *1-button*-controlled game! Took me a while understanding that Left Cursor is located on the keyboard, and not on a mouse :-) Would be nice if the game was slower (or had brakes on Z instead of horn :-P)
Graphics are pleasant too!

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Hey, hey! The horn is integral to the core experience!

TLansdale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Why was there only one horn? There should've been a horn on each button.

Great game ;) Last level was a killer, I couldn't do it, but lots of fun and looked good too. Nice one!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Fun, challenging little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/G4-JCtlxKuU

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Thanks, Jupiter Hadley!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very fun, and I 100% agree with the design decision that honking a horn absolutely deserves its own button no matter what. NO MATTER WHAT.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Wow, great game! Controls are super solid, gameplay is really good, quick and to the point. Graphics do their job more than well, and in general it's a quite enjoyable experience! You should have a stat counter for how many times I pressed the right arrow just before crashing xD

Good job!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

Fun & challenging! I really want to smash keyboard sometimes =) Good gfx sense. Breaking sound annoying at some levels where the distance to nearest obstacle is too short.

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:11am

very fun, love the art, however the horn should of been better

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:40am

Brilliant and challenging, the horn cracked me up!

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:00am

I totes beat it :D my index finger hurts, my eyes are crying from not blinking but i did it. :D

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:22am

The best part is that this is practically a variation of Desert Bus.

omaha says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:23am

All games should have a horn button.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Excellent, very original and entertaining, one of the best, well done :D

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Loved the idea. I just wanted to keep playing.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Really fun! And ONE DIRECTION! xD Really challenging too, nice entry.

Which level, exactly, was the hardest for you? :D - response for your comment on my entry.

NecroMac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Controls are very hard, but that and level design create the games challange

trexmix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Wow! What a fun game.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:18am

This has been my favorite Ludum Dare game so far. I enjoyed it very much!

Leuthil says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:29am

I swear if this game didn't have a toot button I would have killed myself. I finally beat the game and I was surprised that my computer didn't start lagging from all the dead car carcasses lying around. I cannot say enough how great this is. Great use of the theme, great mechanics, great polish.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:54am

Aw, shucks.

Evannex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:52am

I... Can't stop playing this!! Every time it goes to a new level I feel like I have to beat it! I Incredible job! I have no idea how you made this much in the time frame. Best game I've played so far.

logon13 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:37am

Brilliant game. I loved the last level. This game would work great on mobile.

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:55am

This game is so hard, I played way longer than I thought I would. I hate you so good. Gj on the game. It was addicting.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:06am

Wow so addicting. The last level is impossible though.

Gins says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Oh god, best game! I love how you wasted the second button on tooting a useless horn :D

blubberquark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:20pm

My biggest criticism is that the horn sounds boring. I know you give it a button because it is a joke. But it needs a funny sound like a clown nose. Other than that I really like it!

- bob

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Cool game! I really liked how the "dead" cars remain on the road with the wheels separated. I think that the screen shakes help you to get in the mood and not give up. But how hard would it have been to go to an actual car and record it's horn? the sfx was a waste of a button as it wasn't a horn. Also I like the cube based walls, did you place it manually?

randomhuman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Simple but challenging. There's a good variation in the gameplay even with such a simple concept. Great entry.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Wow, awesome mechanics. I don't like puzzle games, but this... this is something. Thx. 5 stars Overall

vortex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Your game is just plain evil...

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Wow, great entry! The progression of difficulty was really nice, up to the absolutely fiendish last level.

This plays like a demented version of Super Off Road - and that's a very good thing!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:18am

Lots of fun. (Honk)

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:55pm

I liked this game, nice gameplay and graphics make a nice challenge.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:46pm

it's a very simple and addictive game. fast to learn and hard to master. great!!!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:38pm

All of the levels have sort of a good frustration/skill/reward cycle going except for the last one I feel, which is unfortunate because it now leaves a bad association instead of a good one for me. Good compo quality stuff with pixel-based levels and simple, but consistent look and feel.

Boberro says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:40am

You made a totes great game. Congratulations on that.

lekochen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:50am

Last level is so hard! Really minimalistic and fun. Yayifcations!

Split82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Tons of levels and variety of surfaces makes this game really great :) Great job.

EwChap says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Love it. Such a great concept build out so well. I instantly got it and was having fun at the same time. I would have loved about .5 seconds of delay longer between crash and spawn to avoid crashing my next car after adjusting too late. This game could easily be called Overcompensation the game. I cant tell you how many times I over-adjusted right into a wall right at the finish line. Awesome work.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Cool little game. The mechanics are really simple but deceptively challenging. Pretty fun stuff!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Really cool. Didn't expect the switches.. quite a puzzle game actually. Certainly very difficult, but I somehow made it to the last level. Great concept and well executed, and it seems we had a somewhat similar idea regarding the useless dedicated horn button.. :)

dx0ne says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Is hilarious. Even my non-gamer friend from office got sucked into it.

Like the pacing, craziness, graphics. Great mechanic with different ground type.

Btw. to make it true 2btn you could have levels with gate that opens only if you horn at it.

Definitely will go back to play more.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Cool game! Frustrating and challenging! But sometimes hard to see behind walls.

Blobo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Really well done! i loved the art and the tooting of the horn was a beutiful addition. gotta make it have two controls somehow! i tooted the horn way more then i should have.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Fun, addictive, with graphics that fit perfectly...

But where is the "Mood" category in the votes? Are you afraid of us being too aggressive after playing your game ;)

zulman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:07pm

A W E S O M E! Can't wait for it on my iPhone :)

sergicollado says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Great game, very polished and fun

WERT Studio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:54pm

it don´t work i can´t press the left mouse button looks good

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:29am

I feel like everything in this game is mocking me. and I can only toot to express my anger.

seriously, great game. really funny and entertaining mechanic. and you executed well on it. I even finished the last level, and yeah, that took some time... but I enjoyed it. a lot of stars for you

Dayko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:22am

Really good entry ! I loved your take on the theme :D

tayl1r says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:32am

Thanks, everybody!

WERT Studio, it's left arrow (cursor keys) rather than left mouse button!

mukult says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:59am

Omg...it gets super difficult after around level 6-7!1 Overall awesome game...would love to play this on the phone with one touch gameplay :P

cimbaman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:49am

Interesting game...

Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Very coool!!!

wooltech says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Brilliant. Last level took forever, but all fun.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Linux executable please!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:30pm

This will be #1 for Fun. No doubt about it!

Bensonance says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Absolutely brilliant!

I adore the way you designed this game - very simply mechanic and a slow introduction of level elements that change the gameplay. Great job on the death game feel - made the constant dying sorta enjoyable :P.

Congrats! :D

Hybrog says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:54pm

"Yayifactions" indeed! Very fun, lost 15 minutes of time without noticing it. I hope you expand on this more!

Didi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:28am

Fun? haha suffering here! =)
Abandon last map!
https://diasp.org/uploads/images/scaled_full_2bf120d2ec10270fb2cd.png

Tyler says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Great idea lol. Really fun and addicting!!!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 12:16am

Loved it! One of my favorite entries so far! Very innovative too. This game pissed me off at times, which I like! Well done! c:

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:12am

Cool game, nice mechanics and implementation. Lots a different grounds that provide a different challenge each time. It makes me think of super meat boy in a way !

Erlend Aakre says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Awesome game! love the levels and the graphics. Definitely one of my top 3 favourites!

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Nice idea, and fun concept. I'm too bad for this kind of games, but well done !

oparisy says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Gosh, I love your visual design! The work on lightning is great, very nice particles too. The super meat boy feeling (up to the disseminated red bodies) got me in a motivating masocore mood :-)

Ellian says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Alright. This is the best game I've played so far, and DAMN the content is there too!
Amazing game, awesome idea, great execution. All kudos to you!

JohnnySix says ...
Feb 27, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Great mechanics, love the different surfaces, and the later levels where more of a puzzle element comes in with the buttons.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]