Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Wayward Souls

by intXparts - Compo Entry

[Description]
2D Platformer about Wayward Souls. Mostly story driven. Hope you enjoy! =)

[Theme Chosen]
Growing

[Install/Run]
For windows, download the zip file referenced in the windows link below. Extract the folder and run the executable condensed.exe.

For anyone that has python 3.4 installed on their system with pygame, you can run this game with the source referenced in the gitbhub link below. Execution is as simple as running:

python program.py

once everything is downloaded & installed.

[Controls]
A - Left
S - Crouch
D - Right
Space - Jump
ESC - Quit

[Created with]
Art - GIMP
Audio - audacity
Programming Language - Python 3.4 using pygame (SDL) library & py2exe
IDE: Pycharm

[Sounds]
Wall breaking: rapid succession of making explosion noises with my mouth
Grunt: imitating an animal grunt
Eating: actual eating of cereal sped up 2x

[Bugs]
There is one collision bug I haven't addressed yet with crouching - working on it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#53Humor3.78
#193Audio3.31
#351Mood3.15
#515Graphics3.03
#559Overall3.14
#602Innovation2.95
#617Fun2.97
#873Theme3.03

Comments

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Nice entry. Could not progress once I met the narrator though.

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:06pm

I feel that the humour of this game, if worked on for longer than 48 hours would make it worth playing alone. However, the gameplay was very floaty in terms of platformer physics and that really slowed gameplay. I liked how momentum was kept when wrapping back to the top of the screen but I had trouble figuring out where I would pop up when falling. I'd suggest keeping the x position unless you change position to create some element of puzzle in which case I think it could work but it needs to be more clear.
Treat the player like they've never played a game before. Your mechanics will be painfully obvious to you but mysterious to the player.
Overall, massive potential but it needs polish.

intXparts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

@jcwelgemoed Thanks! Did you eat the box of cereal in front of him? The narrator will suggest you to hit the escape button which will close the game. I know it was not the most robust way to end the game.

intXparts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

@nexust Thanks for playing my game and giving awesome feedback! I definitely agree with you. I wanted to implement more for the player to do, have alternate story paths, and add more 'weight' in the physics for sure.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Great little game! Short and sweet =).

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17pm

The voice acting is amazing. Trying to figure out the platforming physics and wonky screen wrap, not so much. On the bright side, I laughed, especially at the ending.

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27pm

The narrator audio is very very quiet, running it through compression can help boost up the signal without clipping, but it will make any artifacts or noise in the recording more apparent. Worth looking into if you plan to do more games with narration.

uthamon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Adorable game, this whole thing with narrator speaking, eating these crunchies and breaking the 4th wall by telling to hit escape button. This game has potential to be expanded, with more levels and story about the relationship with narrator. Congrats, I've really enjoyed it.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Humor was great but controls were weird.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:22am

Hilarious voice over! Great job - thoroughly enjoyed it

architect404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:16pm

great narration, shame it was so short! would have loved to continue the story further

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Pretty Graphics and sweet sound design :)
Excellent entry!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Liked it, but too short.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I couldn't get past the point where I met the narrator and ate his toasties, was that supposed to be the end? I pressed Esc and the game still exited. You should definitely expand this game, add a story and things to discover.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I first thought that crouching broke the 2-button control scheme — I managed to get to the end without jumping — but you only went with growing so never mind that.

Bit short but a cute little story.

blubberquark says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Sometimes your sprite does not turn turn around to look left, but goes left anyway.

-bob

Joror says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:41am

The platforming fall-randomness was a bit weird as a mechanic, but I enjoyed the voice-acting and humor.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:34pm

nice game)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]