Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Holiday Rejects

by local306 - Jam Entry

Holiday Rejects is a simple arcade game that will challenge your memory as you sort through parcels containing contraband.

Using the Left or Right keys, players can sort through packages after they've viewed its contents within the Xray scanner.

Delivering or reject appropriate packages will increase your score. If you miscarry too many packages though, you'll be terminated.

Music
Carol of the Bells by EvilWezil

Known issues
• FIXED - Hydraulic audio gets stuck playing over and over. Looking into the code for the issue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#43Innovation(Jam)4.00
#44Fun(Jam)4.02
#73Overall(Jam)3.93
#110Theme(Jam)4.17
#117Humor(Jam)3.63
#320Mood(Jam)3.46
#361Audio(Jam)3.30
#404Graphics(Jam)3.65

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

FIRED? Me. But but ... there were too many of them. Great game ... surprisingly hard to do. Throwing stars, grenades, omg, is it really like that. Good sound. I can imagine going postal if this was real life.

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

So good! This mechanic worked really well.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Extremely well done! I loved having to keep track of the packages, very stressful but in a good way :)

Also having the pushing of packages as physically based was a really nice touch, it made skill a very important part of the game. Well done!

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Very Nice game

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Really great game. The sound effect of the conveyer belt was a bit annoying but the mechanics were great. I even loved how the packages were pushed with physics and not just pre-canned animations. Nice tutorial as well :)

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Wow. Hard, but VERY WELL DONE. amazing.

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04pm

not sure if its my machine or your game, but the audio is looping the pushing sound over and over again while I was plan it for the 20th time..

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Nice game. It's a cool idea. The fact that the good and bad pushers are in different positions really helps increase the difficulty. You have to be thinking in two places at once.

Also, thanks for playing my game! :) I appreciate you might be skeptical that I did it entirely in the weekend. If you like you can check out my twitch channel, because I livestreamed almost the entire dev ^_^

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Score 125, Highest streak 71, I should be doing this for a living.

If they pay like 2000 for 3 minutes, that is.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Sound of conveyor make my ears bleeding

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Haaaaaard game
I love the mechanic
Good job!

GetDoSed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

This game is the best one I've played so far! Such a simple concept, and yet done so well! 5/5

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Cool game! Liked the sound and graphics. What sicko is putting swords into christmas gifts! Some elves are gonna get fired...

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Tough game, but I had a lot of fun playing it!
Great entry :D

DrFallos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Gj well done guys. So interesting game for improving memory and not only.

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Good little game, really liked the mechanics.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Really well done game!

I voted 5/5 on every category except two 4/5 in Fun and Theme.

Great game, maybe it starts getting difficult too late, but I can't find more defects. :)

Yvanor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Nice little game, it looks easy but it's hard to keep an eye on the packages and the xray scanner. Well done ! ^^

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Really good memory/reaction/observation game. I really love this kind of games which are easy to learn but hard to master; at least for me it gave very hard time when the machine continuously x-ray'd present after present while I was pushing misaligned packages so that they wouldn't go to where they belonged :D

I didn't last long enough to see if the game got gradually harder but if it didn't, i suggest that for more hardcore players the belt could get faster, and package interval could get smaller. And optional "hard mode" where the color code of items would be omitted?

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Great mechanic, simple yet addictive.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Quite simple, but nice. I can imagine you could make it more interesting by adding levels with e.g. multiple belts, additional categories, different placement of the pistons - because that was what added the fun difficulty.

MrDave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

This is a great game for something so simple! The spacing was perfect always being just a little too much to keep track of. Really enjoyed this.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

great game. simple but challenging, funny, original...everything i want from a ludum dare game

sichevoid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Great game!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04am

Wow this fun. Nice job looking into all x-mas presents :D With all the weapins iside the boxes it ,ight be dangerous for santa in the next year :D Good job. +1 humor +1 gameplay!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33am

Pretty challenging game! With the positioning of the pistons, it was hard to coordinate which should be pushed!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:58am

Really like this one. Nice graphics, responsive, funny, and on theme.

fpwong says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10am

Good stuff, really liking all the rhythm / timing games coming out of this jam. Wish it sped up a bit faster more though.

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37am

I'm not fired. I quit.

Great job! Fantastic entry!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45am

Nice!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:29am

Very polished game with a lovely mechanic. The gameplay and graphics are well done, but I needed to lower the volume. The music sounds a bit to "aggressive" :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Solid :) A nice take on the old two button yes/no game - the simple yes no thing is different because of timing, and trying to remember that stuff gets hard when the queue gets longer than 3 parcels.

Good stuff :)

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Awesome. Surprisingly hard to manage queue up stuff in your head and push the buttons on the right time. Enjoyed that you actually used physics when pushing the presents. GJ!

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Good job! Has a good twist on this type of game =)

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Nice idea, perfectly executed. Props for using a physics engine to make things more lively (& hard?), plus the burning package animation is pretty well done.

(Side note: I didn't rate the audio since I understood that it wasn't made during the jam... ?)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:27pm

What do you mean I can't bring my katana through customs? ;-) Heh, good use of the two buttons. I thought when starting that up/down might be better than left/right but found left/right worked really well. First few waves of packages were pretty easy, but once you screw one package up things rapidly degenerate. Fun!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:41am

Wow! I thought it was going to be easy, but keeping track of the offset between the two options really shook me up! Awesome idea for a game, very well executed! Great job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Score 114, streak 37.
Great game.

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:00pm

HTML5 link asks for a login.
Fun elegant game to improve the reaction and memory! Good job!

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Simple, well made, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]