Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flee From Debris

by zzapp - Jam Entry

Two Button Theme!

Pretty basic you use A and D to boost left or right. Use both to fly forward.

Made with my brother, SpacesEdge.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#731Graphics(Jam)3.03
#912Innovation(Jam)2.45
#957Fun(Jam)2.53
#960Overall(Jam)2.74

Comments

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I don't think this fitted the theme very well, just made me want to reverse instead!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Good use of the theme, a bit slow to play but with a little more work it could be better and also a great mobile game :)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Good use of two button controls. Wish there was a reverse thruster, but that would be hard to do with the control scheme.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50pm

interesting way of moving the ship. I think that the fact you have to wait to go down is part fo the fun. You can't move to much or you will finish in the middle of the screen with not enough time to ajust your moves.
The flame fx should be realtive to the level rather than the ship: it feels a bit a strange when you turn your ship and flame fx move too.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Not bad... i think it has potential. Perhaps speed up the items falling as you progress.

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Well done! Liked the mechanics, I miss some sound fx.

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05am

Hah, our entries are surprisingly similar.
You've got nicer-looking debris art, though.

Re: Benjamin's comment on the particles -- if you select the particle system and change the "Simulation Space" setting from "Local" to "World," your particles will no longer follow you when you're turning.
(Er, I'm assuming you're using Unity's "Shuriken" particle system there, of course.)

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:43am

I liked the graphics a lot, and it was cool how the debris were 3D objects which rotated and had dynamic collision boxes. This idea fits the theme pretty well. It was challenging because there was no way to go backwards, but it was an interesting challenge. Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:16am

Good job.
I wana see more object this in future).

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:38am

Good models and idea. Theme realization is in the right vector!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Wish the controls were more responsive

ragnta says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:56am

Nice game, but a little bit slow.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:33am

Those rotating satellite pieces are super clean looking! Challenged me to move out of the way as it swung toward the ship.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]