Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Precision Rainbows

by Jimbly - Compo Entry

Test your ability to react to two different streams of targets in this simple but challenging game.

Features:
* Global high score list!
* Runs in your browser! (Probably just Chrome and Firefox)
* Local competitive multiplayer for up to 6 players (gamepads required for more than 2 players) (well, just competing for a high score simnultaneously)
* Works on mobile! (Kind of, if you've got WebGL (Android)...)

I decided to do all sorts of things different for this Ludum Dare - tried out a new engine on a new platform (used Turbulenz on WebGL). Composed and recorded a (very) short bit of music for the title screen. Went with a simple game idea with (in theory) lots of time for polish, though that never plays out as intended =).

Game idea was based on the game InnerBody by Seth Able Robinson, which I had played over a decade ago, extended here to be a little different and have some additional twists.

No idea what to name this game, so... here's Precision Rainbows!

== Tools Used ==
Turbulenz Javascript/WebGL engine [https://github.com/turbulenz/turbulenz_engine]
Photoshop 6.0 (not CS 6, old school 6)
Cakewalk SONAR Studio for composing and audio recording
CoolEdit96 for audio editing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#92Innovation3.88
#92Theme4.20
#141Fun3.66
#233Overall3.57
#393Mood3.08
#588Audio2.37
#590Humor2.11
#617Graphics2.86

Comments

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56am

Oh this is great. And I'm #4 (petrbel). Really great concept. Of course, lvl 7 is really WTF :D Gonna play again soon.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Another post from the same team (nickname #Gyfis), after recommendation - I've just beaten my teammate (so now I'm #4 -Gyfis, and petrbel is #5 :), and I must confirm this game is really dupe! Way to go!

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Amazing precision game!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:12pm

This is sooooooo coool. Right when I thougt playning level 4 "It cant go any wierder" I was wrong. Absolutelly amazing level progress. Wonderful themes mix. 5 stars from me.

rplnt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Now my arm hurts, thanks!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16pm

I'll give you fill marks for innovation. That game was trippy and hurt my head after a while, but in a good way. The game is solid as well. I'd like to see how this will play out multiplayer, so if I get a chance with a few friends or co-workers, I'll see how it plays that way as well.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Great game. Simple mechanic executed really well. Nice use of audio to reinforce positive / negative. No. 11 on the scoreboard ha!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Sadly, I couldn't find anything particularly compelling for the multiplayer (just competing for score, and whoever's doing the best floats ahead a bit so gets less advance visibility), but I might do some iterating on it next time I have an event and get some solid local multiplayer playtesting on it.

Glint Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

Fun game very innovative idea and game mechanic.

Melusine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:31pm

A very cool concept :D

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Good game ! Simplistic but fun and addictive! I appreciate the Ui and the concept^^

UncleChris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

I liked this game, very fun and the levels were interesting. I like it, keep up the awesome work - the audio got annoying after a bit.

MAnimal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Wow, best idea in theme, realy fun to play and challenging, I REALLY LOVE THIS IDEA

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Not saying it would be easy to do, but It would be nice if P1 and P2 played on different maps. Or at least reverse the direction of one of them. That way it would add tension since one playing could be growing while the other thinks they are missing out.

scars377 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22pm

very impressive and fun!

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:26pm

trippy!

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Nice game. Really like the extra visual effect in level 7.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59am

You've done a lot with a simple mechanic. It's quite fun to play. I couldn't really figure out what the strategic advantage would be that would make me want to activate speed-controlling icons in multiplayer, but it still made for a dynamic experience. Nice work!

SethR says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Very cool game. Definitely hurt my brain on those later levels. Thanks for the credit :)

KZdev says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:17am

Fun! I like how each level changes the game up somehow, especially the last one. I played through twice just so I could get on the high score list.

Gunzil says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:14am

Started out unimpressed for the first couple levels but once the difficulty modifiers started rolling out this got pretty fun. :)

The grass and dirt seem very blurry, sharpening them up would make it easier to tell when you ought to shoot. Also the scoring felt disconnected from the game, since you only see your percentage at the end of the game. A visual indicator of your performance would help.

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]