Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nebular Worm

by jcwelgemoed - Compo Entry

Grow your nebular worm by eating asteroids using only two controls: the left and right arrow buttons.

I uploaded an alternate version of the windows executable (Nebularworm_stripped) - this is for those with lower spec pcs. I'd suggest trying the non-stripped one first though :)

Updates:
Added a non-installer Windows version - essentially same but with 2 bug fixes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#509Fun3.12
#523Theme3.68
#535Humor2.26
#585Overall3.12
#604Audio2.30
#606Graphics2.88
#637Innovation2.88
#685Mood2.67

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38am

Super cool idea, almost like a snake/asteroids hybrid. Definitely one of a kind. Awesome effort!

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41am

Best 360 degree snake controls I've seen so far this LD. Great game, biggest way to make it better would be a soundtrack.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13am

Like yumaikas said, the controls were really something you don't see that often in these kind of games. Nice work!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32am

Cool idea, and cool mecanics. Nothing else to add :)

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41am

I like the combination of snake and asteroids. It fits super well within our theme combo this LD. Only thing I would want added in would be some sweet tunes. Sound design is nice though. Good work!

zulman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53am

Very smooth animations, base mechanic is well known and still cool. Unfortunately sounds are very loud and unexpected

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56am

Great idea! The snake controls were fluid (and the first thing I noticed about the game). That made playing a lot more fun on its own. I liked the graphics, the concept, and the gameplay. To be honest I didn't like the sound, but the it doesn't take away from the fun. This really feels like a completed game! Kudos!

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56am

2 buttons and growing. That goes with the theme. The game is easy but gets more challenging as you play. I love it this game is surely a front runner for best game! Very well done! Bravo!

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Creepy worm mounth, but really fun to play, remmind me from my childhood playing on old celphones

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

haha nice! asteroids meets snake. interesting idea!

MAnimal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:33pm

the snake has very nice dynamic move, very fun to play, i like the collors

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Cool game.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08pm

A bit too easy, but nice variant of snake.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Windows don't let me open the .exe for malware protection. :(

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25am

@nunesbarbosa I got same for other's games when I rated them as well. Windows does this for some .exe(s) not sure why.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15am

Nice cross between two classic games, and as others have said the controls were pretty darn good. Shame I just got greedy and kept eating my tail :) Excellent job.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09pm

cute and fun game, well done

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Fun game. Nice mix of concepts.

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Pretty cute idea. Controls are nice and fluid. Good job!

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Very nicely done, great fun and looks very nice too! Excellent submission!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Good job! I liked that it was like worm but with levels. I think the stage felt a little big. That meant that it took a really long time to be able to get all of the things in order to beat the level, and that it was a little harder to bump into yourself. I thought thegame controlled very well though. :)

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Good Job. The controls are fabulous.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56am

I really liked the variety introduced into the gameplay from the enemies. They really made the game more enjoyable. I also enjoyed the rainbow visuals on the snake, and the controls were tight. I remember seeing a game (made by Nocturne I think for one of the GameMaker Community jams) in which you had to constrict larger objects to eat them, and I think that could be applied here to destroy the larger asteroids. Or cut through them or something, it just looks odd to eat a giant asteroid! Background music would be a great addition. I think with a little more polish, this could be a really great game.

Farelle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05am

hehe that christmas slide ;D
I got until level 4 with a score over 10k XD not sure how many levels it has, but it was definitely fun and it's concept is easy to understand. I accidentially even found out that you can destroy the UFOs flying through the screen :) very nice gimmick ^^ In overall I think some spacy music in the background, even something simple would have made a big difference to the overall feeling of the game, but it also does well standing on it's own, because the sounds are very fitting :)

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Nice job. Great version of classic snake game!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:28am

Great concept and game design!
Cross the boundary is cool way to continue.

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:51am

Snake Hurray!!!!
I love whan i die,snake become a cloud of smoke~
so fun~

Atridas says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Nice twist on good old snacke. The fact that all objects where going at the same speed as the worm made the game somewhat hard, but I don't know if this was intentional.

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:45pm

This may be the best snake game that I have ever played. I think this would be fun if there was multiplayer.

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Nice little snake game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]