Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Awe, Chute.

by BunkeyGames - Compo Entry

"Awe, Chute" is a game where you must sort recycling and place it into appropriate bins.

I got a ton of neat features implemented that I never though I would. Sadly, there are a few bugs to go along with it, that I couldn't get fixed.

There is a big with the picking up/dropping off items. You may have to hold the keys for a split second longer to make it work. I apologize for this inconvenience. I spent probably 6 hours alone trying to fix this bug.

Also highscores don't work in webplayer. I dunno why, but I only found out after time ran out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2311Coolness14%

Comments

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:54pm

The controls are quite finicky, but the game suits the theme well. Nice job :)

BunkeyGames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Thanks, Teren! I completely agree. I spent too much time bugfixing, so sadly the controls never got optimized :/

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

It's a lovely game. Perfect music and graphics. Liked it. :)

BunkeyGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

And for those of you wondering - I DID record the song myself! Including the Ukulele!

BunkeyGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Also, high scores don't show on webplayer for some reason. They do get entered though. You can check them on the Windows/Mac/Linux version.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Looks really nice! The music is cool too! Too bad the controls make it virtually unplayable, I wish I could play this properly :(
Good try!

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Game is a buggy a bit but the graphics are cool. Nice concept too. Music is cool!

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:21am

I like the music and the overall mood. Gameplay is a litte hard.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:38pm

The idea is cool and fits the two button theme perfectly. I felt like the player is on ice though and it was a little disappointing not to be able to drop/pick up items while on the move.

Overall cool idea and rewarding to play.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Really nice graphics, very clean. :)
Also, neat idea for using two-button controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]