Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Orbital Defender

by Bocodillo - Jam Entry

A super simple game (basically a prototype) I made mostly within the first 24 hours as I've been busy at work. Shoot the ever growing circles and collect power-ups to help. All graphics, sound effects, music and programming done by myself.

CONTROLS:
-A/LEFT -> Rotate counter-clockwise
-D/RIGHT -> Rotate clockwise
-ESC -> Open pause menu

Made by: Beau Stanton

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#251Mood(Jam)3.57
#327Audio(Jam)3.35
#411Fun(Jam)3.28
#499Theme(Jam)3.69
#525Overall(Jam)3.32
#542Innovation(Jam)3.11
#634Graphics(Jam)3.21

Comments

DeltaNegative says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35pm

The graphivs could use some brushing-up, but I really appreciate the camera shaking effect :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Interesting little idea, and well implemented for a 24 hour game. It seems to have a really interesting pace, with the cores growing innevitably outwards too!

Have to say though, web links are usually for games that are playable in browser, not stuff you have to download. ; )

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Keep working! This game have potential if you add more power ups, and maybe an endless-mode.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Nice

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:51am

Fun and interesting gameplay!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:38pm

The music and stark, slowly growing visuals make this really entrancing. Great work!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Nice, I liked the high contrast visuals and the camera shake, could use some more content but well done none the less.

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:48am

Interesting. I liked the variety of power ups.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Quite nice entry, I loved the audio, it's really relaxing.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Loved preety much everything. From the music, the concept and art!!! <3

Crefossus says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:17pm

It's pretty fun. I like the orbiting power up. It needs a little quicker lose condition (or a quicker/more clear win condition).

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:32am

Nice game! c:

YinYin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:26am

Like my own entry this could've picked up pace a bit more quickly. More specifically, it could've started to shoot back sooner, cause that's the point where it got interesting.

Ultimately I still got bored and waited for it to grow.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]