Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Fighter Diet

by Louspirit - Jam Entry

This is a 2 players versus fighting game.
But you are a smart waiter so you dont dirt your hand. You prefer to feed your fighting monster to make it grow and defeat the enemy! What will be your strategy to win ?

The controls are S and D key for player 1 and left and right arrows for player 2.

It is our second Ludum Dare entry. This time we are 2 designers, 3 devs including one music creator.

Hope you'll enjoy ! (better to use the windows version)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#255Humor(Jam)3.17
#367Fun(Jam)3.34
#525Overall(Jam)3.32
#551Innovation(Jam)3.10
#570Audio(Jam)2.86
#671Mood(Jam)3.03
#770Graphics(Jam)2.93

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43am

I didn't have a second player, so not much of a challenge, but I had fun leveling up my monster and watching him crush the baby egg. Nice twist on the "catch the falling item" mechanic.

Farelle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:26am

So when I started playing this I was thinking: "ohhh so THATs what I'm doing, feeding 2 little brats of dinosaurs(?) that are spitting food at each other, great!"
it's fun though, probably even more if I wouldn't play against myself XD

purrpurr says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

I normally don't enjoy this type of mechanic very much. Though I did here. Seems like it would be decently fun if you had a second player on hand, (and could taunt them in the process). Though, for added difficulty, playing against yourself is also fun here.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

This is an enjoyable multiplayer game. If you have the time I would suggest you try to polish it even more, because the mechanic is solid.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Interesting idea! Good use of the theme!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Neat little game :)
I found the controls a bit awkward at times (why S and D and not A and D?). But it's a nice take on both times and pretty enjoyable! :)

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I tried playing both players, with limited success :P But a really interesting way to go about a combat game, and good use of the control scheme for a two player game.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16pm

I played this with a friend, and if player 1 and player 2 are in the same position, Player 2 gets the food ALWAYS because the second player's plate is above player 1's. Overall its was a nice fun concept but since its rigged towards player 2 it was a bit frustrating.

Raphi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:45am

the game is fun, but the sprite of one of the player is over the other, so he would get every food

felilix says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:20am

Haha, cool idea! The beast fights!

mar3k says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Really cool idea, but I unfortunately did not not have a second player, so AI would be much appreciated.

antag99 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Fun game, but I couldn't get player one to move left in the web version.

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Nice concept! I did find that the items fell a little bit too slow; it would have been more fun if the game was a little faster paced. A very good game overall though.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Awesome looking game! Good work on the details, and kudos to your artist.

Stending says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:41am

Wow, great concept, cool execution, nice art and music!
A really awesome entry, congratulations!

korvyashka says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Played with my wife and we really enjoyed it. She won by the way :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]