Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Oh My Beard!

by StaNov - Compo Entry

You are a forest sprite who has to get rid of lumberjacks in forest. But you are not alone, there are also your friends bees, willing to help!


Including:
* hand-drawn graphics
* original soundtrack played on guitar and kazoo
* mouth-made sound effects
* voiceacted cutscenes
* ultimate final boss fight!


Links:
* My Facebook fanclub: https://www.facebook.com/StaNovStandaNovak
* My Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/xxxstanley
* My personal website: http://www.StaNov.cz
* Development footage of my last LD: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLE4fGQXgx2n1W145SJxIdDI8b9qIf8wBq

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.27
Coolness65%
#86Audio3.70
#245Fun3.49
#290Mood3.26
#491Overall3.22
#566Innovation3.03
#702Theme3.42
#779Graphics2.49

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:49am

That was hillarious. The thought of you recording all these sounds in the middle of the faculty building with other devs around is really... interesting. I was laughing my ass off since the beggining to the end. However, I was clicking furiously right before dying, and clicked Restart by accident. Why is that button so big...

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50am

Oops, my bad. I got confused with you constant posts on the page.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:36am

I laughed at that ... could have worked for LD33 too Be the monster. Great job. Good fun. Great audio. Great intro too.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24am

The sound is so amazing! I'm still laughing. Great game

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48pm

This is hillarious. Well done! The voice acting and kazoo soundtrack really makes it.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

The audio was funny and worked well with the bonkers mission. The graphics could haven been a little better but I thought some of the art was entertaining in its own way.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14am

It was so silly and off the wall, but the sound effect of the pink people moving away from my bee beard was annoying if I didn't kill them. I could never defeat the guy at the end of level 2.

Thanks for sharing your game!

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55am

So first of all, the introduction scene was hilarious and I was laughing my ass off, but it really kind of just ends there. The gameplay feels like a grind, it takes too long to kill enemies, the sound effect of hitting enemies, albeit funny.. (WAAH) became really infuriating as you hit a lot of enemies. (Looping over and over, killing my ears)

I stopped at the level where you had to collect 40 bees because it takes too long to kill enemies, graphically of course the game is not very pleasing, the audio was funny, but too loud/too repetitive and poorly implemented.

I didn't have much fun past the first level, due to the fact that it felt like a grind, and also the game plays with one button, which I guess kind of fits to the theme.

Not very innovative, not a very good mood, but a funny entry nonetheless.

Anyway, thank you for your entry! I hope to see you make games in the future as well!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Perfect game , PaintEngine?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Quite the silly little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/G4-JCtlxKuU

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32pm

As with you previous Ludum Dare game, the humour and music are amazing!
Pity that the man with axe kills me with one touch, and I can't do a single hit on him

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

The introduction was very humorous but the constant screaming ingame was very annoying.

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:43am

Very nice entry :) You made me smile. Thanks.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I played this for quite a long time, really funny idea and cool little game

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:22am

Není to vůbec špatné hodnotím tak 3 až 4 hvězdičkami. Je tam skvělý příběh a nápad což té hře opravdu pomáhá do příště bych se zaměřil na lepší grafiku ... Ale za tu krátkou dobu jsi vytvořil něco co se dá v této soutěži považovat za nejlepší. Hodně štěstí v soutěži. :)

Dejvo says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I have an fobia from bees but this game was cool. a bit hard to control, but cool. thanks :)

alfie275 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Very funny game :) Different kinds of bees would have been cool maybe?

Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Those guys with axes are too smug. Fantastically humorous game, there is no better game than a game that requires you to grow a beard!

Really liked the concept of controlling the bees.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Lol! Although I kind of want to give the audio both 1 and 5 stars simultaneously :P.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Collecting you minions was fun, in particular sense of progression (from 4 puny bees to entire army). My main complaint is that gameplay was too dependent on exploiting enemies pathfinding. Sounds were hilarious.

flakoflak says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:54pm

funniest game i played... Music is perfect with that kind of bee sound.. Great work.

RHY3756547 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Best audio ever. Loved how the music became minor for the boss fight - and the gameplay was quite interesting once I had to start getting walls between me and the enemy. Nice work!

Dayko says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Hahaha that was great, well done on the storytelling, narration, audio and controls ! On the gameplay side maybe it could have been a bit more challenging (apart from the bossfight) because for now you just have to hide behind a tree block while the bees do all the work :)

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Awesome. I give it 68 out of 68 Bees in a Beard.

klianc09 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Really funny voice-over and sound effects. Had a laugh by running past all the pink enemies, they just keep on screaming and never stop.
Combat was deeply flawed, if you tried to kite them I always misclicked and move to them instead of attacking -> a deadly mistake. Would have really helped to have a separate button for attacking and moving... like... you know... TWO BUTTONS.
Instead I just stood around the corner, and slowly killed them, while they got stuck in the wall...
Still, nice game, had fun playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]