Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pig Belly Runner

by daveh - Jam Entry


INTRODUCTION
------------

Pig Belly Runner is a game created for Ludum Dare 34 jam category. It was created in 48 hours. The theme was tied between "2 Button Controls" and "Growing", so in this game you control a pig that just wants to eat more sweets (candy,) specifically liquorice allsorts (Do they even have
those outside the UK? Probably not.)


REQUIREMENTS
------------

You'll need a graphics card with OpenGL 3.3 support.


CONTROLS
--------

* A : Hold to run to the right. Release to stop.
* L : Tap to jump and remain airborne.
* ESC : Exit
* P : Exit


HOW TO PLAY
-----------

Collect the sweets to score. Score is only allocated upon completion of a level. Collecting all the sweets in a level gives a score multiplier for that level. Every sweet you collect makes you grow fatter and as a consequence you can't jump as high with each tap of the L button, so tap harder!

You lose if you fall behind the moving camera or if you land on a sugar spike.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#350Graphics(Jam)3.73
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#450Humor(Jam)2.75
#490Mood(Jam)3.24
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03
#615Audio(Jam)2.71
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#641Overall(Jam)3.19

Comments

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21am

Fun and adictive, you should keep working on this, keep it up man :D

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

Cool presentation! Great work :)

SovietBear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

Fun time killer if you need something to do for a few moments. The handheld game look is really awesome, and a beautiful touch. Great job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I love retro-consoles! The game reminds me a lot of feelings... good job!

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11pm

What a nice little pig game. Love the 3D handheld gamemachine and the low quality graphics. Gameplay is simple, but effective enough!

Namek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Spikes are less spiky than expected.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:54am

I really like the game controller and how it even shakes as you press buttons. The hitboxes on the spikes were kind of annoying.

daveh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44am

Thanks for the comments and feedback. In hindsight, the collision on the spikes should be tighter, probably pixel perfect.

blohod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28am

nice, love the style
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:55pm

i found the jumping quite difficult, looks like a legit gameboy game on the inside, and much work to get 3d effects around it! I couldnt play it too long unless i figured out the jump better, nice work.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Really well presented and fun to play! Nice literal take on one of the themes.
Goooooooood job!

elizeu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:30pm

The graphics disappear, can not play.
Windows 8.1

architect404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:30pm

great presentation. slightly unintuitive control and I simply couldn't clear the last spike which got frustrating after many attempts, but at least it was challenging?! good effort

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38am

"L : Tap to jump and remain airborne. " - No matter how quickly I tapped it I always fell right back to the ground. Is there a trick to it?

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:46am

@JimmothySanchez If you stop tapping, gravity pulls you right back down. You can also only tap for so long, 1.2 seconds to be exact, before you are exhausted and must land before you can tap again. This isn't really communicated (probably should have had an animation showing the pig getting tired to communicate what's happening, but I didn't have the time.)

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:54pm

This was pretty cool to play :D Love the aesthetics! Congrats

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:28pm

This is HAAAAAAARDD!!! But pretty nice. (still couldn't get past 6 biscuits though D: )

Cosmic5 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Enjoyed the game. It might sound weird but maybe rethink the pink yellow and brown background image. It kind of fights for attention, and doesn't quite feel like it fits.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:47am

Haha! I love the game within a game feel to it. :D
I couldn't get past 7 snacks though. :\
It would be fun if little games like this were incorporated into larger games.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:58am

That was tough! It was hard to hit the jump button over and over again. I really liked the portable gaming system model, that added a lot. Nice job. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:31am

controls need work but i loved the old hand held feel you game it - nice work

Jan 11, 2016 @ 12:13am

Neat little game! Its pretty hard to jump though. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EnuG74cyOfk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]