Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

liniums

by 2pae - Compo Entry

Play in "windowed mode", it previent some little UI bug

Controls:

A - Move to LEFT
D - Move to RIGHT and continue dialogs

Linux and Mac not test.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#151Mood3.53
#256Audio3.13
#339Graphics3.36
#546Theme3.65
#620Humor2.04
#673Overall3.00
#709Fun2.82
#809Innovation2.52

Comments

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

not sure if i'm very bad at it, or it goes way too fast. is it frame dependent?
it's also a little annoying to have to get past the initial dialog every time i loose, which is often.

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Nice graphics, a bit hard to play

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Very moody!

Bjarnovikus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Typical 2 button game. Really like how it looks, but the music should not restart every time you die. I ragequitted after the third or fourth level as the start is quit difficult. Overall okay game!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33pm

It was a bit too fast for me - I couldn't get past the 3rd stage, but fun game overall. Nicely done :)

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33pm

The graphics are really nice and the game is very challenging. The final level made me rage so much, but i managed to beat it after a while. The music restarting every time you died was pretty annoying.
Love the voice acting.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Found it much too fast and difficult to be a lot of fun, nice sound and atmosphere though. Perhaps consider having it start slower and then build up speed?

Finally, in the dialogue your tenses are allover the place. Please consider getting a native English speaker to proofread your writing next time. This is a pet peeve of mine, as poor dialogue can undo a lot of otherwise good work on the mood and narrative.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36pm

The graphics were okay, but the gameplay itself was rather frustrating. The dialog shouldn't appear each time you die, it takes so much off from the actual play time. Also, is it just me or was it waaayyy too fast?

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07pm

The graphics, audio and style of the game are great.

Unfortunately it seems to run a bit too quickly for me. Am I just not very good or is the game speed tied to how fast the computer can render?

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Graphics, sounds and mood are perfect. I really like your game.

Quique says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Great job!
I love this monster :D

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I think you have graphics setting set to fastest. Its running with infinite frame rate :D

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36am

thx for the comments. Really,i appreciate it and the advice are very good for the feedback.

I solved the little bugs: music repeat, velocity player and a little more easy, but is hard ,i know

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:00am

The game felt really fast. Don't know if you limited the tick count or not, but if not, that's something to do in the future. Otherwise, I liked it! Nice job!

Kushulain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03am

Really short game. So difficulty increases really quickly. I loved the cute voice :D

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:32am

I beat it. Wont lie, I skipped all the dialog lol. I thought the presentation was really well done, and everything looked very polished. Unfortunately this genre just isn't for me.. Very good job though!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:26am

The game leaves very little space for improvisation, either you memorize the entire level (by failing a lot) or you're doomed to fail forever. If it wasn't going so fas it'd be a bit easier. Also, when the Linium gets to the source of energy, nothing happens. It should get back to the main menu at least.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Nice mood. I guess it is more like a memory game to me rather than action :D you might reduces the falling speed a bit. and some extra levels will be nice!

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Pretty difficult. the ending didnt quite feel like an ending though. there wasn't a YOU WIN menu, or something. just another text bubble, and you could move around still after it.

Dege says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:44pm

+ Overall it's a solid entry, I liked it.
++ I enjoyed playing it, I kept retrying until I beat it :)
+ Simple but effective use of the theme.
++ Nice minimal graphics.
- The final screen is spoiled in screenshots XD
-- The music is not bad, but you could easy make it loop seamlessly.
- There's no final screen in the final screen :) I mean, when the last dialog ends, you could print something like "YOU WIN" and take me back to the start menu.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]