Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Buttons Left

by jerry111zhang - Compo Entry

What could you do when you have only two fingers left to move? This is a story-rich atmospheric game that delivers the feeling.

Instructions: Use your mouse to click the buttons, or use left and right arrow keys on keyboard.

There is one ending to this game, push the two buttons and you would find out!

For Ludum Dare 34 Compo!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#76Humor3.59
#95Mood3.72
#133Theme4.13
#407Fun3.25
#433Innovation3.22
#570Overall3.13

Comments

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00am

Interesting...

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

Good idea.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

Pretty humorous responses. I got to the part that explained what happened with the two buttons, but I couldn't find a way past that. Is that the true ending, once you get the "NICELY DONE!" option?

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43am

Whoops, I just found an option to continue past that. Some options occasionally seem bugged, since I think I was getting random "No food" etc. replies when trying to choose different things.

Reisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44am

Well-written narrative. The ending is a bit anticlimactic though.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46am

Reminds me of the Stanley Parable. Cool concept

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:08am

Huh. That was a lot more interesting than I expected... Interesting storyline, a lot more depth than it seems.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29am

Hehehe!! I like it...
The responses are awesome!! Good story narration.
Also...the buttons do give a little bit more character than it would have given in a twine game :)

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I liked it. I'm not sure if I reached the correct ending, but I may come back :)

SoulBound says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05am

Really interesting game. Graphics where nice, but I wish there was some music. Short but very fun.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:02pm

I thought the idea was really good! I liked that you could only press two buttons. I was very very surprised by how smart the game was when I was inputting letters and having the computer read them. The backstory was very interesting, but I wonder why at the end the computer let me out. I was expecting to argue with it more or something, but it just kind of happened. Either way a really interesting experience. Awesome job on this. :)

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Nice story, kept me interested,

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Good little game! I acutally wanted to type "I LOVE YOU" the first time you chat, i was like "Woah why did it type LOVE all at once when i selected L, how did it know?". Then I got what was going on :P. Finished the story too.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57pm

At i thought there were not many options, but the game slowly hooked me up! I liked how you slowly find out about everything and the buttons keep on doing different things! Nicely done! Keep up the good work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Very well done! Such a simple, but scary, concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]