Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Disphere

by TerraCottaFrog - Compo Entry

Made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 34. Theme: Two Button Controls

Use only two buttons to control your fast moving craft around an abstract obstacle course of moving spikes. Collect prizes for points, and survive for as long as you can.

Use Z to move outwards from the center of the circles, and X to move inwards. Play for the highscore! Highscores are saved from play to play.

**Download for Windows for High Resolution Mode!**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#245Audio3.16
#263Overall3.52
#271Innovation3.48
#311Theme3.93
#371Fun3.30
#386Graphics3.28
#503Mood2.93

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:17am

those links don't work :(
just a 404 on itch.io

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23am

Looks like web-link is broken...

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

Link not working

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

Game not found

Jakylgamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

yup links are broken

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

The links are broken! Please fix it asap mate... The screenshots are pretty interesting! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

Sorry about that. It should be working now.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

was a interesting game.

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

Interesting idea, it started out slow but got better.

Crafting4U says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Mildly addictive game. Use of simple graphics and audio was well.

emmes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Web Link was working for me...

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Overall, a fun little game; difficult but very nice-looking and easy to grasp, fits with the theme.

There were a handful of times I really don't feel like I should have survived when I did. The spikes sometimes line up perfectly and the only way to avoid them is to use the invulnerability of the movement animation, which doesn't feel terribly fair or intended. I feel like the game would've worked much better with clearer deliniations of where the player should be at a given point. I'm mostly nitpicking here, though. The system works and isn't hard to learn.

Only other complaint is that the sound effects are a bit grating.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Really like the idea of it. It's quite hard but I kinda like that. It was rough getting above 3. Nice work.

tuben999 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11am

Pretty good game! :) bit confusing at first what and where is the player?

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice, challenging entry :)

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I find it impossible :/ but well fitting the Two Button controls theme.

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Love the artstyle, the game is quite fun. 9/10

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21am

Nice game! simple but addictive. love it! I think w and s or up and down arrow would have been more intuitive for controls.

Akhera says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41am

Good concept, although it feels like you can get into situations it's impossible to get from a bit too often.

Personally, I'd prefer if the controls were up and down arrows instead, because this way I sometimes forget which button is inwards and which is outwards.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Real hardcore...

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:31pm

When I dodged the spikes by shifting orbits, picked up a blue square and saw my score increase, I felt excited! If you continue to develop this, for a while I sometimes reversed thinking of the Z key as Move Out and the X key as Move In. Have you considered how the spikes rotations could ramp difficulty over time to onboard a casual player like me?

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:00pm

it's a bit too hard for me but i liked it!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Really cool concept. i really enjoyed this game, high score of 8. it's pretty hard, but i liked the challenge.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Good idea, good execution, challenging and addictive!
Overall pretty neat entry!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:47am

Solid take on the theme, and good addictive game play. Really hard, but that suits a game like this well.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Nice simple, and hard game ! I thought your last game was easy but this one is super difficult !
I can't beat for now :) and i'm not talking about manic mode, really for ... manics :p
Very simple and enjoyable aestetics and mechanics, i was a bit frustrated when i died almost as soon as i started the game ...
Good job !

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:38am

Nice game!

I think you should improve the level generator, because many times I did born died...

Overall, it's a really cool idea!

Congratulations

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Mildly addictive game. Use of simple graphics and audio was well. Addictive. Neat ++

LittleThor says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:09am

Simple but efficient game.
Be careful with the procedural level design, it builds some impossible or very frustrating situations like "starting directly in a spike"
Good job!

ranmaru90 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:37pm

I love games like this. Small and simple, yet fun and challenging.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Fun, simple game play and great use of the theme.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:14am

A simple but interesting game. Really lenient in terms of when the game decides you hit a spike it seems.

Solifuge says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:29am

Solid game! I rather preferred the pacing on Manic better than Normal; it made it feel exciting, and let you quickly put an end to the frustrations of bad RNG giving you an impossible layout (only happened a few times). No advice here, other than to consider generation algorithms that didn't make impossible levels, or hand design the layout for consistency.

Thanks for putting this together!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]