Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Swarmonian Explorer

by Teekeks - Compo Entry

Swarmonian Explorer is a mixture of puzzle- and exploration-game.

You are controlling a swarm with your cursor that has to collect new parts to grow and to master the challenges set by the 12 unique maps included in this game.

You have just two controls:
Left Mouseclick: separating the attacking part of your swarm from the rest
Right Mouseclick: ordering the swarm to search around and explore

All mechanics of the game are described in the tutorial so pay attention when you play it.

If you want to take a screenshot: F12 is your friend

If your game crashes on startup, try the post-compo version.

Changelog:
Version 1.2:
- Zooming in and out by scrolling
- Even more fixed Collision Detection

Version 1.1:
- Collision Detection fixed
- crash on non-16:9 screens fixed
- improved performance a bit
- fixed level 12
- fixed bug where level was paused when started again

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Innovation4.23
#88Fun3.80
#110Overall3.80
#325Mood3.20
#490Theme3.72
#528Audio2.54
#598Humor2.09
#624Graphics2.85

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:22am

Very nice! Your levels are just a little bit to large, or the player doesn't have enough signs.
But very nice concept!

ambi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

Really great idea and the implementation is snappy. I would like to see this game made into a full product and put on Steam.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32am

Awesome game! A couple bugs here and there (hehe) but really cool game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11am

Absolutely mesmerizing game. Great work!

TheGrandhill says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:26am

I love it! Well except the music, you could spend more time on that next time.
I can really see this game go somwhere.
Best part is to have many swarmlings and then right click!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:32am

Really cool idea! The camera movement was a bit wonky at times, but other than that, this is awesome. Really original concept. :)

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39am

A very interesting concept. I liked the general experimental feeling of the thing, even if it is not very clear at first.
Next time you should maybe try to sound design it !

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47am

Wow, you nailed the Growing theme with this, really slick and fun.

Music can be improved, and graphics as well, but the mechanics are insanely solid.

With some work this could be a full game that you can sell!

Good luck, awesome entry ^^

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49am

A very interesting concept! Props for innovation. With a some more work this could really be something nice.

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20am

Cool game, really ejoyed it :P

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20am

Cool game, really enjoyed it :P

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21am

A very good game I like it very much.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Really good! Bit annoying when some of my bits get stuck on walls but a nice concept and great level design.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Very big game considering time limitation. Original take on theme, thanks for making.

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Very cool concept! The swarm feels a bit sticky going along walls but otherwise I really enjoyed it!

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47am

Very cool idea having different parts of a swarm represent different things! It was a really cool game!

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:56am

Very good game, enjoyed it a lot! The concept is brilliant.

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08am

Awesome mechanic, a lot of fun. Is the music come from Super Mario Bro ?

chrissou says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

The game won't launch on Linux :
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: Couldn't set display mode 1280x720, fullscreen: true
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglGraphics.setupDisplay(LwjglGraphics.java:153)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:138)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:120)

Could you provide a version without the fullscreen?

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I really like this! Saving this for playing more later, would love controller support, shoulder buttons to launch/focus.

THe particles glom to the wall a bit to easily but a little more pull towards the cursor would help with that.

Awesome job!

Teekeks says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09pm

chrissou look in the description, there is a link for this case. Just posting it once again: http://data.teawork.de/LD34/Swarmonian_Explorer_v1.0_windowed.jar hf testing the game!

BobM says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Very nice game and level design, keep going on guyz !

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

What's a great idea! Excellent work! Manage swarm is very fun thing!

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Really enjoyed; love the fluidity of movement & the gorgeous right-click illumination effect. With a little additional time & polish this could be something really cool!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:51am

Nifty idea for controlling a whole bunch of things at once. Kind of hard to distinguish the specific parts, could maybe be a little larger or zoomed in more, but otherwise fun!

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Controlling the particles is a bit clunky at times because of the sticking-to-the-walls-mechanic, but otherwise the game is quite good. I like the idea of controlling a swarm of small things, so this is definitely cool.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Great game! Very interesting concept and nice levels to go along with it! I love the look of the swarm when they are bouncing all around in explore mode. Good work!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Good idea, funny game

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:10pm

I loved this game. Besides the presentation, which could be improved, the core game idea is really solid, as well as the level design.

I really hope you push this further and come up with something interesting. But most of all, I hope you send me a free key if it ever goes commercial :P

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:24am

Very interesting mechanic. Really feels like I'm controlling a swarm of little workers and warriors. Major kudos to the raw number of levels included as well as the puzzle variety!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Excelent!

YinYin says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15pm

This was splendid and has a lot of potential.

As I've already said it desperately needs some interactive audio.

I also think the switch tiles might read a lot better if they had a yellow hue similar to the related dots. Maybe make the exit tiles a shiny/brighter variant of it as well, to make the connection even more evident. This would also free green for a different use possibly related to your health dots (recharge/multiply up to an upgradable limit when greens are on warm sparkly green tiles? decimate on bright bubbly acid green tiles? definitely beats having every type always just wait around for the active swarm).

Would love to see many more pikmin like features for each colour and perhaps even more colours.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]