Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Playing With Fire

by sonelliot - Jam Entry

Grow your fire. Burn things. Profit.

The orange meter is for energy. When you heat things or launch a fireball you will use energy.

The red meter is how much stuff you have burnt. Fill it to complete the level!

Themes: Both.

Controls:

- Left Button: Heat an area to spread flames. Must already be on fire to be heated.
- Right Button: Drop a ball of fire on area to start a new fire.

Tips:

- Yellow grass is highly flammable and will burn easily. Use it to quickly spread to other parts of a level.
- Trees take longer to burn earn you more points when burnt.

Credits: Peter, Matt, Elliot (@sonelliot)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#183Innovation(Jam)3.62
#286Graphics(Jam)3.86
#491Theme(Jam)3.70
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#541Overall(Jam)3.30
#553Mood(Jam)3.17
#581Fun(Jam)3.08
#612Audio(Jam)2.72

Comments

Eharr says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Worked perfectly. I really like the graphics, the particle effects is very nicely made! Simple, yet challenging. The only thing I missed was a way to quit the game, ESC didn't seem to work.

sichevoid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Nice idea! Enjoyed playing it :)

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Game is fun, would like to see a fully fleshed out version of it.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23am

A fun, enjoyable game. Just the right level of challenging, took a few times to get the concept down, but it was fun!

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24am

Really sweet style and controls, congrats guys!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34am

It's a fun game, the only issue I found was that if you die way off to one corner of the map, the UI appears off-screen. Great job, very solid entry!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:39am

Decent entry. Could use some music. Right click is too stronk. Good job!

aare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:59am

Nice idea, cool graphics especially fire animations :)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:16am

Good Fire and some fun to play GG

thomz12 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Very cool! love the graphics!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:11am

There wasn't much of a challenge once I figured out it's more effective to save energy and drop fireballs rather than spend energy on heating things, however I don't think that's necessarily a bad thing.

I sort of view this as fun little sandbox, destroy things, be evil type of game more than a 'complete this goal' type of game, and I like it.

had lots of fun burning everything in sight, I liked the subtle sound effects, and enjoyed the pixel art, overall very nicely done!

Smokey bear hates me now...

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:13am

Nice idea, needs more feedbacks tho. Keep up the good work!

pcmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:25am

Good job, graphics truly beautiful and what a funny idea :)

phi6 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Very cool game concept! Would love to have seen some audio implemented in this. Your art style caught my eye, we used a very similar perspective/technique, but your pixel version works especially well. Good job!

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:13am

Nice game! I had a lot of fun playing this

Efuvex says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:29am

Really loved the particle effects and lighting!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:49am

The good:
-Looks very polished
- feels great/fun to play.
- Level designed well
- tweaks on traditional mechanics. You had a snake/warm (growing trail behind you) meets yoshis island (you lose mob members if they get hit but can recover them) thing going on
-great use of both themes

the bad:
-not terribly innovative despite minor details (which is fine)
-wish it was longer (but i understand with this level of polish)

Really top notch work.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:12pm

I liked the fire and water particles, the fireman are cute! The mechanics are strange at first.
Maybe if you control the fireman it wold be better. You could add a multiplayer Fireman vs Fire!
It could become a great game if you spend some time improving. Great job.

mr. a says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:14am

Impressive! The concept seems like it would be too ambitious for a game jam, but you've executed it well. The two powers are well-considered, and the rules click after a few tries. The levels are nicely varied, too.

The fireball does seem a little overpowered compared to the other power, but the game feels too sandbox-y for that to be a bother. Wish there were more things to burn (abandoned houses, trash piles, deadwood, oil spills) and more levels, though. What are the odds of you continuing work on a post-LD version?

BoredOfYou says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:20am

Reset button doesn't work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]