Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

33 grams

by martincohen - Compo Entry

About

A game about silkmoths escaping a certain death in a silk mill.

Use mouse to control.

Theme

Went for all three themes: two button controls and growing and tie. Sadly, any good alternative to second button didn't make the game better, so I left it with only one button.

Development

Done with C in my young framework called Punity (see the source, https://github.com/martincohen/Punity).

Timelapse https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qz7a5ElkboM
Playthrough (with spoilers!) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5SEYP1sxns

Updates

(2015-15-12 04:49 CET)
- Added Mac version.

(2015-15-12 04:49 CET)
- Fixed audio cracks.
- Added a link to my itch.io page to main screen.

(2015-15-12 00:04 CET)
- Changed to 64-bit Linux version.
- Let me know if you want 32-bit one in the comments or at twitter.com/martin_cohen <3

(2015-14-12 18:35 CET)
- Added 32-bit Linux version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.57
Mood4.74
Coolness59%
#14Graphics4.50
#16Overall4.20
#131Innovation3.76
#153Fun3.64
#399Humor2.53
#404Theme3.82

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Behold, my silk moth army!

Beautiful game, so zen. I love it!

Kapura says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

Fascinating game. Wonderful aesthetics all around!

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

@FuzzyWuzzie, @Kapura: Thank you, guys <3

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

This is freakin' amazing. Always a pleasure to see great pixel art in LD. And great gameplay. And great sounds. And great ambience. And great...

Nate Kling says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

Excellent art and music. I loved the theme and mood to this game, very unique!

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02am

The music and graphics are fantastic! Very nice work!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44am

The ending made me chuckle :)

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47am

Really neat game. I like the music and sound a lot. Didn't enjoy hunting at the end but it was still cool to watch the little guys fly around.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Very beautiful and the reactive music sounds incredible. The controls for the swarm have just the right balance between fine movement and the unpredictability of a large group. Very well done!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46pm

I had a little bit of confusion getting started, but after that everything was totally fine. The overall atmosphere and ambiance were astonishing, and created a very relaxing, lovely environment. I thought the mechanics were a little slow, but they helped contribute to the carefree atmosphere of the whole thing.
Nicely done!

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Wonderful, clean simplicity. The art and sound work well together to really nail the mood, and the relaxed pace of the gameplay adds to it. I had to deliberately walk my moths into the spike thing just to hear the soundscape's reaction.

It was such a nice environment that I felt bad having it running in a window on my computer and wanted to go into full screen.

Great job.

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Thank you! All of you! <3

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29am

5 stars - simply outstanding use of theme - well done

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28am

Really beautiful game! I loved the way the silk moths moved around.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

i spend a nice time on your game, that time at 97 when you didn't see nothing for a while and you take all the spikes for your friend ^^'

martincohen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54am

GwakamoleStudio You made it to 97? =O Wow!

yhsper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Amazing game. I always wanted to be a flock of silk moths and now I can. Beautiful graphics and music. Congratulations!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29pm

I liked the animations and flowing movement of moths. Also visuals style and randomized levels(I guess they are). However the game is so short and mechanic is simple and repetitive. I wish there was more to it but I guess it's quite good for 48 hours.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

@martincohen yes, and i've finally find the others after that :) the only little defect is when you pass the door by mistake, quit frustrating

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Superb! music/sound is so excellent..how the sound blends with collecting another moth...great mood..thanx

rxi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

So much to love about this game. With your usual unique art style, and excellent audio design the whole thing tells a story with the mood it sets.

The music was wonderful, emphasizing the overall calm of it. The sparse sound effects meshed together so well with the music that it was difficult to tell where one ended and the other began. The violence of the sound when one of the moths died was like a splash in an otherwise still lake; combined with watching its little body flail to the ground was enough consequence to make you try as hard as you could to avoid doing it again.

A really unique and simple idea executed perfectly, an overall lovely experience.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:21pm

This was really nice and well done. I felt very calm playing it, great job!

Tijn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

I got 18.6 grams on my first run. Then I tried a second time and thought I did much better, turns out I only had collected 13 grams! Haha.

The atmosphere in this game is quite amazing. Very zen-like. Good job on the audio, both the music and the sounds are great! But the visuals are great too and on top it all runs very smooth.

All in all a fantastic entry!

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

I really liked the flock behaviour which at first I didn't even know existed! After the first and second playthroughs I didn't really understand "what's the big fuss" and then for some reason I looked in the .gif above and went "OH".
Very interesting music as well!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05am

Enchanting, artful. Loved the breathing synth music and minimalistic art style -- left a lot to the imagination in the best way possible. Good work.

martincohen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:55am

I cannot express how happy I am that you like it, guys! *Blushing* <3

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:20am

This game has ambience to spare. Incredible art, incredible music, incredible game feel, and most importantly, a creative flock-building hook that feels super satisfying and challenging at once. My only gripe is this: the game is TINY! I want to play it in fullscreen but can't. It's hard to appreciate art when you're squinting at it. A fantastic, fantastic game!

wine says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Great atmosphere! Simple and nice gameplay
Well done :)

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Super beautiful. Music and audio is really top notch! I love the minimalistic graphics too :)

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Amazing aesthetics! To make this in C must have been really hard, even with an already working engine.

Madsj says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:32am

The Graphics and sound is really good, the atmosphere is serene but also threatening, the color palette seems very distinct.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:52am

Great calming experience. Superb music and very atmospheric graphics.

Adreqi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Love this game. You don't have to do much, yet it takes you out of the real world. The ambiance helps a lot, audio and graphics. As some already said though, that little window does not help with immersion :/ I bet could play 8 at once on my monitor. Oh wait. Yes, I can :p http://imgur.com/6cYUSAg

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:54am

awesome game!!!

martincohen says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:38am

Adreqi :DDD The new engine doesn't have support for fullscreen yet, and I didn't want to experiment with it at the end, to not break it. :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:29pm

The mood in this game is amazing! The Music and SFX works perfekt with the style of pixel art. Good stuff keep it up!

Dreyan says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:41am

Apologies for a bit of a long comment but I want to gush a little about why this is my favourite LD34 game so far. Damn.

This game has some beautiful graphics, beautiful audio and sets the tone perfectly. But more than this, it's the subtleties in this game that make it. First off, the silkworm collection blends so seamlessly with the music I didn't even realise it wasn't part of it the first few times. Very cool use of dynamic music.

Second, whether intentional or not, the spear traps in this game actually produce a misdirection that makes for one of the most minimally designed puzzles I've seen. Despite the fact that the spears rise up and down, usually you can simply fly around them. When you reach the worms completely surrounded by spears, the simple answer of simply waiting until they were down didn't click for a minute for me because there was 'no way in' and I was still thinking about them like I had all the others, as simple obstacles to avoid.

Third, the use of negative space is fantastic, and flying over blackness to arrive at more map produces a feel of sequence breaking despite the fact that the game map is entirely open.

Kudos.

martincohen says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Dreyan, wow. You made me soo happy right now. Thank you that!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Very atmosferic game! Like the visuals and audio. But tooo hard for completion at 100%

euske says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:13am

I don't like moths in real life but enjoyed this one.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:52pm

This is beautiful. I'm in love with the visuals but the audio is really good too and the game overall is very cool!

cilerba says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:41am

"You have saved 13.3 grams of silk"

Not quite 33, but I feel that's a good amount! Really atmospheric game, the moths follow your directions well but spread out just enough to give you a heart attack anytime you go by spikes. My second playthrough I didn't lose any, compared to my first when I would lose every other. Great game!

pkenney says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 7:48am

Congrats on the double gold medals - a pleasure to split #16 w/ you!

Jan 16, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Beautiful game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/jZIKMICuSkI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]