Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grownan's Adventure

by Jwgk - Jam Entry

Grownan's Adventure
Help Grownan get his adventure on!

Use Grownan's magic growth powers to stomp on icky worms and avoid the heliBro's blades.

Sources:
Graphics - kenney.nl
Game Over sfx - freesound.org/people/noirenex
Squish sfx - opengameart.org/content/8-wet-squish-slurp-impacts
HeliBro sfx - opengameart.org/content/helicopter-sounds
Music - opengameart.org/content/what-a-nice-surprise-nes-version

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#450Humor(Jam)2.75
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#725Fun(Jam)2.90
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#885Innovation(Jam)2.53
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Gyfis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Nice little game! I think that if enhanced with better scoring system, powerups, more gestues and better music, it can be a full (and well paid) game on mobile!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:28am

Cute graphics and cool theme realization. Liked to stomp worms) Think you need to add some effects to stomping or to end game.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Simple, cute little game

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Ah kenney art! Love that guy. Nice happy music, simple and effective idea, with more time maybe you could add different obstacles. Good work!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Nice art and sprites, especially Grownan and the helibros. Good job in using the two-button and growth themes.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I really liked the graphical style

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:06am

Pretty fun entry. Game speed at the start could be a bit faster though.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:45pm

175

Fun little game. Enjoyed the art and audio. The difficulty ramp could use a little tuning. Overall a fun game.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Fun game. Pleasant graphics and sound.

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Nice was fun and Grownan is adorable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]