Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Billy And His Kids

by ToloaGames - Compo Entry

CONTROLS: WASD, SPACE
I don't know if this game work in a solution other than 4:3.
OS/X Version not tested!

Billy is a little farmer. He has three girls who are very hungry.
To feed them, Billy has to grow some stuff. But nothing grows without rain.
So make it rain!

Control the Cloud with WASD. Billy will plant seeds and you have to rain on them in order to make them grow. The blue meter shows you how much water the plant still needs. If it is depleted then the plant will die. Plants will grow over time if you water them. They will then be added to your stockpile.The kids will demand that you grow certain plants for them. You win the game if you manage to beat level 8.

Tips:
-The kids will tell you what they need.
-At this stage it is not possible to complete the game with all 3 lives remaining (as far as I know)
-Don't try to water a plant if the blue meter is full, it will have no effect.

So this is my second LDJAM and it was almost as exciting as the first one. I improved a lot in terms of graphics. The code is also better but still a HUGE MESS. When I started coding I was so tired that I couldn't structure it very well so it's really embarrassing and patchworky tbh.

I managed to work 38 hours in the 48 hour time frame, which is one hour more than last time. The jam starts at 3 am in my timezone which can be quite the challenge because usually really tired in the first 3 hours.

I pushed a lot of the design and all the balancing to the end of the compo and did most of the art first, which is generally a bad idea imo. I had to balance the whole thing in the last 2 hours and I think the gameplay is still lacking and not as intuitive as i wanted it to be. I also have no idea how challenging this game is cause I played it so much by now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#309Humor2.75
#522Audio2.56
#752Innovation2.65
#766Graphics2.50
#790Fun2.65
#804Mood2.36
#884Overall2.65
#887Theme2.92

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02am

Hello, This is GameGrape Gaming! Here at GameGrape Gaming we review games, more! We will do a run through of your game making sure you can see someone playing and enjoying your game but also letting you know what could be changed or whats awesome about your game.

Feel free to send as many as you want since we review all the games that are sent! All games will be video reviewed and the reviews will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for? Do you want people to see your game(s)? Do you want to watch people play your game? The time has come! What are you waiting for!

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: https://goo.gl/StKpT9

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): http://goo.gl/forms/WMMWfbKU5N

This game looks great and we can't wait to play! Good luck in the competition! :)

narve says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18am

Based on the screenshots you uploaded, the frog seems to play a major role in the story. I feel like this wasn't explored deeply enough in the game. Where did the frog come from? Is he/she really just a normal frog, or is he/she hiding something from us? Is this frog to be trusted?

siege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

I don't understand the general point of this game. It controlled well but I had no reason to continue.

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Hahaha really funny graphics, good job team!!

Louspirit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

The sounds were cool, as the idea. But I didn't understand that I should hit the frog. I tried once but not long enough so I wandered why I was failing. Else the controls were embarassing because I dont have a qwerty keyboard.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Crazy frogs? Frantic clouds? Dead children?
Must be Ludum Dare.

Not a bad entry at all, graphics are amusing, gameplay works although a bit hard. Music is repetitive-ish but effects are great.

At first I didn't entirely understnad what to do and how the game works but after a dead kid or two it becomes much clearer :)

SovietBear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:33am

It's Fun to play, although It'd be nice if Billy had some sort of legs. Ah well, besides that It's a nice little challenge to kill a some time on.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

Great job. Pretty funny game and cool frog.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Poor kids, if only Billy invested in an irrigation system they wouldn't have to starve. It would be nice if the one looked less like a seven. I got confused and wasted away two of my daughters trying to grow seven peas.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Nice little game that gets quite challenging indeed! Keep it up!

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:24pm

A bit difficult to understand how to play but really funny graphics. Good work!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Fun game, very addictive!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]