Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

blackfisk

by Acerio - Jam Entry

blackfisk is a game where you shoot stuff, and grow! The more you grow, the harder the game is! With two button controls, and tons of enemies and bosses, you can endlessly play this game! You play as Joshua and you go joshing everyone!

This was made for Ludum Dare 34, with the themes "Two Button Controls + Growing" as two themes tied.

Made in 47 hours! Music is not made by us, but sure suits it! All sounds besides music, however, was made by us. Also, there is a post competition version. Just download the "Polished Version" from the download page we linked.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#315Fun(Jam)3.41
#374Graphics(Jam)3.70
#439Audio(Jam)3.16
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#553Mood(Jam)3.17
#571Innovation(Jam)3.06
#631Humor(Jam)2.44
#659Theme(Jam)3.53

Comments

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:44am

Running great here with Ubuntu/Wine.

I love it! Art has a certain charm to it, and I enjoyed frantically trying to kill everything around me.

gloim says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

Enjoyed playing this :) like the visuals

gkxd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

Art and music are nice. Movement felt smooth too.

The game was a bit disorienting because I couldn't tell why I was jumping around all over the place.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

The AI in this is amazing, it feels so alive and real. Great aesthetic value too.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19am

good game. I really liked the art. would have preferred a different representation of health aside from transparency, but still good

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34am

Good job!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49am

Cute little game.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:05am

Fun little game. The small space made it hard with the constantly moving forward. A pause between death and new game would of been nice.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:54am

Cool game. Dashing felt really good. And I liked the enemies' movement was very similar to the player's.

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:11pm

aargh...no OS X build ? Cant play it... :|

Jwatt says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:21am

You should have the controls in the description rather than hidden in some menu. People just don't read menus. It seemed intuitive that it would've been just the mouse, but the mouse buttons did nothing. (In fact, why don't they?)

Your take on the growth theme seems like a good idea, but it has a very one-dimensional effect, and I feel you could've done more with it to add some variety. Like shooting different kinds of enemies would cause you to grow in different ways, with your shots becoming different and all.

The bumping gets pretty crazy sometimes, but it seems well playtested enough.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:24am

While the control positioning is weird, it plays all right, even though the constant pew pew pew is annoying. It's not exactly clear where the enemies are or what's going on, plus I'm not sure what happens when you lose since I didn't seem to take damage, but it's a promising little title that's one of the better games I've played.

fermenter says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:42am

Would've liked to see some variations on the controlling/shooting and perhaps a hp bar or something. Well done for the short time frame anyways!

Eingya says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:16pm

The game is not super intuitive to get into, but the concept itself is solid, and once one understand what to do it's quite fun!

Acuity says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:11am

Pretty cool! The shot sound is a little loud and jarring though, but I like the music!

Tselmek says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Really fun game. Using the right analog stick instead of the left one might not be the best choice of controls but it's sort of work. Pretty simple and pretty polished, wish there was some indicator of life. Good job.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:50pm

woooo!!!!This is really Cool and awesome!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]