Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Beat

by MCRewind - Compo Entry

Well this turned out ok...

W and A to move, try and get as high as you can while avoiding enemies.
Missing some stuff but whatever

Also, unity web player so don't use Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#208Audio3.26
#617Graphics2.86
#664Theme3.50
#668Humor1.84
#796Mood2.38
#916Innovation2.05
#926Fun2.18
#942Overall2.41
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50am

It was pretty frustrating to always be hitting my head on the leaves. Music is pretty nice, though.

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17am

Basic idea was really solid though the pacing and controls felt off.

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49am

I dig the aesthetic you've got here!

btw, do you mind if I ask what browser+OS you used to play my game? I did include sound effects and you said they weren't working for you

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54am

Really liked the pixelart and the sound. The controll is a bit frustrating. My head stucks at one of the leaves way to often.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:56am

In response to membrane I accidentally has my sound off when I reviewed your game but I realized it and updated my rating :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03am

Jeez, this game is finicky. Sometimes I jump high, sometimes I don't. Maybe I'm missing something.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:15am

justonooncx, you have to get momentum and jump off the side of things like the edges of leaves or even the horrible enemys, thats why your jump height fluctuates :)

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18am

Good graphics mate, gameplay is kinda good when you get the jumps

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37am

theres some flaw like the controls feel very stiff, the character floating, and i constantly bump my head on the leaf
the concept not bad tho

Duobix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40am

The music was trippy, I don't know why I had the constant Retry sign over my head, and I couldn't grasp the jumping mechanic enought to have fun with this one.

tphx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30am

I really enjoyed the music.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Nice sound, jumping seems off though :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

I couldnt get ontop of the leaf! Though the sound is great. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]