Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snowy Smasher

by vinipereira - Jam Entry

Snowy Smasher is a infinity roll game, where you need reach a specific mass to win.

IT IS TOO HARD!

WE CHALLENGE YOU!

Of course, if you win we will give you a hug! (PS.: In some cases we may opt for a virtual hug).

Enjoy your run, and come roll with us!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#51Theme(Jam)4.30
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#269Graphics(Jam)3.90
#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#604Humor(Jam)2.50
#853Innovation(Jam)2.60

Comments

pedrorossa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

EXCLENT!!!!
Very, very fun and cool.
This game is very Catupei.
:D

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

Congrats for finishing it. Nice use of the themes, graphics and ambientation.

A shout out from Unisinos! o/

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Awesome game! Loved the music and visuals. Played it for a while :D

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Very cool game! I really liked the art style and the music. Congratulations to the team, you did a very good job.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Really great game, I found it interesting and enjoyable. Some critique would be for the menu to also be navigated by the arrow keys, as I didn't expect for it to be done with the mouse. Other than, I'm really impressed, good job!

muit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

That was very fun and adictive, congrats! Some kind of puntuation, or goals would be cooler but its ok.

Nizan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Quite good fun. Would have liked a score / high score maybe so that I'm more inclined to replay? Good work though, pretty solid game :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Katamari meets Tux snow rider? LIKE! Seriously, this game looks absolutely great, we really dig the low poly and clean artstyle. It really adds ups for a pleasant game experience. Maybe it's a bit too much on the easy side, but it has enough potential to become a challenging game. Great work!

Zintex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Cool game, so far the best I've played and judged. I won in this game. Do you consider publishing on google play store?

newbeings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Good work! I love how the menu transitions into the gameplay.

LadyS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Very cute! Like the low poly style, the ramping is good too. Music is very... demanding in a way. Could have been a little subtler for my taste :) Overall, fun!

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Very charming and fun game. Liked your low poly aesthetic.

andyman404 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Cool rolling game. Pretty scenery. [The OS/X link appears to be broken. Web worked fine.]

h.attila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice game, really fun idea and good-looking graphics. Audio is pretty good as well.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Mac download gives 404 error. Web version 403.

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Awesome Game :D

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Nice little game, but it would have been great to have some sort of score :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Lovely graphics and sounds. I like this game! Very fun to play!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Rather hard to control, but otherwise an okay game.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Third snowball roller I've played in this competition, yet this one is still unique and fun. Good work. I enjoyed myself. :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Great game ! You really did a great job guys. Also, it is nice to let the possibility to mute the sound, but it would be a mistake !

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:10am

Fun game. I think faster paced music or music that sped up as you got bigger would have brought up the mood a lot. I felt it ended kind of suddenly. More emphasis on what the larger ball can do, especially towards the end would be real cool. Impressive entry!

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Nice game with cool graphics!

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Nice game!

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Nice graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]