Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Fox's Garden

by Pusty - Compo Entry

This game was made for Ludum Dare 34
In this game you grow plants and protect them from evil shoes,shears and bulldozers. It is about experimenting and getting used to the game mechanics and also about strategically thinking.

My game can be played with only 2 Keys (A/D) or a Mouse (which has 2 Buttons).

You upgrade things by throwing coins at them.
Enemies will appear when the sun rises.
When all your flowers die you have to restart the level.



Game was made in Java using LWJGL with eclipse
Art was made with ProMotion
Music was made with FamiTracker
Sounds were generated with sfxr

Thank you for your time!
I would be happy if you try my game and post a comment.

- Pusty



Controls:

Mouse:

Move the mouse to the side to move. Click to drop coins.

or Keyboard:

A/D or Arrow Keys to move, press both to drop coins
(alternatively press S or Arrow Down).

also
P: Pause/Unpause
Esc: To save and exit


Hints (If you are stuck or something like that):

General:
Dialogues are important! (Recall them with E)
Last line on the HUD tells how many enemies will approach next day.
To drop 9 or more energy you have to move while doing so.
Everything can be build and upgraded 3 times.
Plants can only be upgraded once a day-night cycle.
If no Sun Flower is left you lost.
Building something cost 1 Energy every time. Upgrade cost variate.
If you collide with an enemy all you Energy will be dropped.

Sun Flowers (Flower):
Upgrading them takes 4 Energy each.
When sun rises they drop coins in amount of times it got upgraded.

Walls (Wall):
Upgrading them first takes 1 then 4 then 9 coins.
To upgrade it to the last level you have to move while dropping
because you pick them up faster then you are able to drop them.

Shoes (Enemy):
Shoes break every plant they collide with.
If they collide with a wall they die and take 1 upgrade away from
the wall. If the wall is fully upgraded Shoes can't destroy it.

Bonus Flower (Flower):
Upgrading them takes 1 then 2 then 3 coins.
Upgrading them give 100 Score. The final upgrade gives 250 Score.

Shears (Enemy):
Shears destroy every plant they collide with.
They can break wood walls (Tier 1 and 2) without dying.
They can break thin stone walls but die while doing so.
They can only be fully blocked by using a fully upgraded wall.

Night Flower (Flower):
Upgrading them first takes 1 then 2 then 3 coins.
After upgrading them they will drop double the amount you paid
and drop it the next night.

Destroyer (Enemy):
Destroyer can break any plant or wall.
The Destroyer can only be killed by using a fully upgraded wall
or a fully charged bomb plant.

Bomb Plant (Flower):
Upgrading them takes 1 each but it takes 4 days to fully
upgrade them.
Enemies pass right through them.
If a Bomb Plant is fully upgraded it can destroy 1 Destroyer
but drops to Tier 1 by doing so.


Hope this helps! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#323Humor2.72
#490Graphics3.07
#493Audio2.61
#579Mood2.82
#681Innovation2.79
#699Theme3.43
#763Overall2.90
#822Fun2.59

Comments

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Growing some plants here...growing some plants there...build up the fence...yay!
Ive got to say that I started to feel the repeating tasks after two levels. Maybe some more variation would have been nice (or speed up the game process somehow)

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

cool game, but too much text is involved in the tutorial

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Love the graphics and the color palette :D

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Beautiful little game, felt a little repetitive after a while.

Conk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Lots of levels, I liked the challenge and the variety, the walk animation is very odd, the legs look too tiny. I also found changing direction too quickly would drop coins, not sure if a feature.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Neat game, too many directions. But I like the controls are nice.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Auroz took the words aus my mouth: Beautiful little game, felt a little repetitive after a while.

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Looks great. I like the variety of different things you were able to add, though the gameplay does get a little repetitive.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:28pm

The learning curve and game speed felt a bit too slow. Not enough interaction, and too much waiting in between.

I did like the foxy gardener and music theme. :)

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:31pm

True retro feelings, thank you!

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Also (sorry for posting it here) sorry for not clear rules in Let's Play Simulator 2016 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114). Hope this screenshot (http://take.ms/flHZu) will help you to understand how to detect good/bad games :)

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]