Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pewpewer

by PotatoGrader - Jam Entry

You have encountered an endless source of
hostile shooting thingies.
You can destroy their source,
but can you escape an endless time loop?
(spoiler: you cannot)

Controls:
Mouse movement -> player movement
Left Mouse Button -> laser
Right Mouse Button -> shield
Nothing -> shoot regular bullets
Escape -> pause

Some explanation about GUI and other stuff:
On the left there are two vertical bars.
The white one is laser charge.
The grey-blue one is shield charge.
One laser shot takes 1/3 of full charge
(black marker shows charge amount for firing 1 shot)

You goal is to destroy the root block that is spawning other blocks.
But it is connected to other blocks.
When there are a lot of blue blocks, the root block becomes invulnerable.



Background generated in Tekx (http://kolenka.su/blog/procedural_generation/tekx-graficheskij-generator.html Russian text, but nice pictures) by awesome HD408 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/hd408/)
You can directly download Tekx here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/75034586/Code/Tekx/Beta/Tekx.exe

Sounds generated in bfxr
Programmer art in GIMP
Made with LÖVE

Source code may be executed with LÖVE https://www.love2d.org/ on other platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#581Fun(Jam)3.08
#667Audio(Jam)2.45
#704Theme(Jam)3.46
#737Humor(Jam)2.20
#764Overall(Jam)3.04
#791Innovation(Jam)2.71
#890Mood(Jam)2.58
#903Graphics(Jam)2.52
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35am

The name :). This was neat! It has the potential to be really hectic! With more enemy movement, thumping music, and maybe some death blossoms to push it to eleven. Good job on this!

PotatoGrader says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12am

fluidvolt, thank you very much. I am so unsure about this game that you comment makes me feel much better.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07pm

This is very nice actually, I don't play a lot of bullet hell games but the idea of fighting 1 enemy who grows like that is very cool and a ton of fun. The game feels and looks great too!

The only thing I would change is the sound of the player laser, other than that GREAT job! :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Good growing boss mechanic! Pew Pew!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Very cool game. If you could have had children of children, I think this game would be really cool. Nice job!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Wow this is hard! And fast. And bullethell :-).

Only the spawn position i would put on the bottom. At first it's difficult to realize where you are.

Karai17 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:08am

Interesting game but I seem to be unable to do any real damage to the centre block. Perhaps a boss health indicator could help?

PotatoGrader says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:01am

Thank you all very much.
Your suggestions are all really helpful. The spawn position could be moved lower, the laser sound is louder than the other sounds and it would be nice to have a boss health indicator.
If I make any additions to this game, those are sure to be the first ones.

fiddenmar says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:18am

I have made a hole and moved in it so I could attack the center without any danger from a very close distance; a new node has spawned and moved me away, right in the bulletstorm where I have died.

P.S. after you've died you can continue playing by pressing ESC.

PotatoGrader says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:33am

@fiddenmar. Yeah, someone has pointed the part about ESC on the LOVE forum. If my game need something, it's polish.
And your tactic of attacking the root block from a very close distance should have failed, I think, because the root block becomes invincible when there are enough blue blocks.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:48am

I really liked it and the theme is well thought :p

Challenging but that's cool, well done!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02am

Alright, the concept is really neat! I've enjoyed playing it, and growing enemy mechanics looks very promising!
I'm kind of wonder if I can actually win the game, cause the growing is so fast and I'm a bit slow)
Anyway you did a nice job, I think I'll come back to it a few more times to try my luck with this growing-ship-dude=)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:15am

Very simple game and the name very accurate :D

Indiestry says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:35am

Really cool concept and gameplay. Some music would propably make it feel more immersive, but it's still a really fun game :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Quite engaging, fun little game!
Could be very cool! The only thing I didn't like was the way that you move the player to the mouse rather than having it stuck directly on the mouse, it made it quite unpredictable in some scenarios.

Clavus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:17pm

It gets a bit too hellish even for a bullet hell after a while :P

At some point I just can't seem to keep up with the amount of blue blocks spawning.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Пиу-пиу. Забавная игруха.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:05am

Neat idea for a growing two button shmup. Some eerie techno-organic visuals would hit the spot for this theme. I agree with fluidvolt, a little juice in just the right places would easily kick this into something people would talk about. (The boss's base mechanics are solid!)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]