Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Steve can't jump

by ubgamerpro - Jam Entry

In a world where Steve can't jump, will he get through the hardships of figuring out to to complete a platformer without being able to jump, only time will tell.

Programming, art, etc By ubGamerPro
Music by SmokeyMcMexican

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#552Audio(Jam)2.92
#567Innovation(Jam)3.07
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#631Humor(Jam)2.44
#730Mood(Jam)2.95
#864Fun(Jam)2.70
#879Graphics(Jam)2.63
#901Overall(Jam)2.85
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

Bendev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10am

Good game man! The level design frustrated me a little but overall it's a good game. Keep it up.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

Frustrating but great. Good job. Things I noticed were that the music loop got a little too repetitive towards the end of my game, and the graphics are a little basic. However those didn't ruin how fun and creative it was.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

I really liked the level design but collisions got me stuck several times and I could't finish the game.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:08am

For a man who can't jump, Steve spends an unusually large portion of his time airborne. The level design was good, if frustrating (largely due to Steve getting his head caught on a passing stalactite as he whistled through the air) but I liked the core idea. Keep it up. :)

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Loved the "space to jump" tooltip that lied!

I feel like this game would be much better if you were able to maintain momentum between jumps, and not get caught on the ground/ceiling so much. There were some parts where I thought it looked like a cool boost-loop thing and wound up just resulting in Steve bouncing against the walls and going nowhere. Despite this, it's a great entry. Well done!

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Played it through the end! For a character who cannot jump, Steve sure spends a lot of time airborne. :) Really simple but well done implementation of the theme. Kinda wished for a bit more variety though.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:27am

Simply game but effective. Maybe you should check some jumps, they're a bit larger.

scorched says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:41am

Not bad! You should put less space between up-arrows. It's hard to reach some.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:25am

nice concept! a bit hard but cool!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:35am

Interesting gameplay, though unfortunate position of some arrows got me stuck close to the end.

peyj says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:14am

A lot of people seem to have fun with this game, but I still have to leave some critisism here:

The game often does not do what you expect it to do. Instead of boosting you the boosters often kill all your speed. You change direction very slowly, which makes the controls feel unresponsive. Small collisions with the ceiling sometimes also kill all your speed. On top of that the level design sometimes makes you redo big sections which then also involves a lot of walking (which is exaggerated by the fact that your walking speed is pretty slow); this is bad because if the player feels like their time is wasted they will very quickly loose motivation.

These are just a few points that I would address. Some of them are programming mistakes, so maybe you don't have to much experience with programming games. In that case even completing a game like this is already a big accomplishment! The design issues mentioned are things you should probably pay attention to while playtesting you own game. A single constant like player accelaration, maximum speed, gravity or jump strength can make a huge differece, so you want to make sure all of that is fine tuned thoroughly.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:05pm

The concept is quite interesting, and you've got some nice graphics and soundtrack! But the level is a bit too challenging.

I like that you've designed the level as some labyrinth, with some dead ends, but some jumps are a bit frustrating and there are some collisions that got me kind of annoyed too. :P

But you can make quite some game with the base concept! Even putting some puzzles in it! :D

LeReveur says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Good game, but I'm stuck where I need to go up from the bottom, I managed to get the third jumper only once, it's a few pixels too far and so it's very hard to catch... Anyway, good job. :)

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Nice game! The jumping pads remind me of the boost pads in my game. Very nice work!

nosfer says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:46pm

The infuriating adventures of kneeless Steve :) Nice mechanics but needs more polishing around the edges :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]