Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mine Rail Shooter

by Ybalrid - Compo Entry

!This game is only a 2 button game and doesn't fit the theme "growing"

LD34 Mine Rail Shooter
A game that you play with 2 mouse buttons!!!

* Left mouse button : shoot
* Right mouse button : reload gun
* Mouse move -> aim

You're inside a mine cart (remeber the time where ALL video game used to have a level in a mine with a mine cart? Well This game is just that.

You shoot the targets. You incrase socre. End of story.

---

Hi guys!

This is my firt *actuall* project using Unity 3D. And I'm pretty happy with the result actually.

So, Everything 3D has been made with Blender
SFX with bfxr
Coded with Unity and Visual studio.
The music is just me playing some random stuff on my guitar (Gibsom Midtown Custom, to a BlackStar 1watt tube amp, to an Alesis multimix USB interface)

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#219Audio3.22
#410Graphics3.22
#474Overall3.24
#513Humor2.32
#524Mood2.90
#567Fun3.04
#735Theme3.37
#867Innovation2.35

Comments

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45am

Protip: You can turn around, give that a shot.

WiLD says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Atleast make it so the cursor locks, thanks ^_^

coywolf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

I second the cursor locking, I kept clicking out of the window.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Nice game! But it's annoying when the mouse is outside the game window.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Arf. Sorry for the cursor locking. I only tested it if full screen so it wasn't an issue :/

First time using unity for me, so I wasn't aware ^^"

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Had a lot of fun with this one, when I was able to keep the cursor within the window ;) Great graphics, and kudos for having a guitar soundtrack!

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:30pm

For a first unity project, great work! Really dug the audio! Mouse lock would of been great and a bit more complexity. Over all though great first unity effort!

MAnimal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Nice game, i must see your code. I like your models, i need to know how you generate the level!!! :)

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

@MAnimal look at this Blender file https://github.com/Ybalrid/LD34/blob/master/assets_source/minetunel.blend?raw=true

The "Cylinder" (yes, bad name, I know) has 3 modifiers :

- a "Mirror" in 2 planes, so I have to model ony 1/4th of one section
- an "Array" modifier that copy this mesh folowing some parameters (lengts of the array + an offset vector)
- a "Curve" that deform the result of the Array folowing a curve object.

The "curve" used is a NURBS path. You can create one easily by doin <Spacebar> -> "Add path" ;-)

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

HEY GUYS!
The main scene now lock the mouse! \o/

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58am

I liked this game very much. Nice and simple models and solid gameplay. Great job.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:21am

If it's really first time in Unity, you did great job. I hope you go further next time. I found the mine a little bit empty. It looks like an Oculus Rift demo kind of thing. After a while I started spamming both buttons :D Keep developing!

SovietBear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:39am

I liked the game play, but it lacked any punishment for reloading (cool down timer, not being able to shoot for a bit), so you could just click both buttons at the same time and never worry about ammo.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:29pm

@SovietBear I know. I have to put more thought on game mechanics and design. I'm a programmer for start, I know a bit of 3D modeling but game design is still new for me...
Will do better next time!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:51am

Good job for a first go with Unity. As others have said, it's missing some game mechanics to give it more of a goal or strategy than "rack up points", but the core gameplay is there for sure.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Yup. I need some training to make more interesting game mechanics ^^"

Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Nice idea and the game is well done. Maybe the particle effects are a bit too strong, it's a bit annoying to shoot the targets behind...

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Nice and simple, well executed.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Nice, does exactly what it says on the tin! Liked the music too. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]