Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Meet Ball

by Shurty - Jam Entry

SUPER MEET BALL LD#34 - PARIS FRANCE
====================================

UPDATES - WEB VERSION:
- Fixed wrong levels order & selection (level 4 is now level 2 and new level 4 added)
- Fixed buttons Credits/Menu on end screen
- Fixed collisions for some platforms
- Fixed stars collections issues & animation

ABOUT THE GAME:

Super meet Ball is the story of two lovers playing the attraction-repulsion phenomena. You will have to manage their moves in order to help them meet each other.
5 levels of increasing difficulty are available.
Sounds & Musics are not made by us and are free to use.
All other assets are made by us in 72h.
Softwares used: Photoshop, Unity3D

CONTROLS:

Q/Left Mouse: Push character 1
W/Right Mouse: Push character 2
Both Buttons: Attract both characters

You will quickly understand the power of love between them !

We had 5 more CONTRAINTS picked from a deck of contraint-cards :
1) "It's alive : the game must be different every session played and must include a procedurally generated component"
How we dealt with it : The plants in the back of game are randomly generated

2)"Left Brain, Right Brain : The game must require the player to control a minimum of 2 entities simultaneously"

3)" Where are you going : At least one entitie directed movement must be using pathfinding"
How we dealt with it : we were planning to implement an ennemy using pathfinding but did not have the time to Design it ! :)

4)"Pacifist : there must no violence and agressive behaviour depicted in the game"

5 "Stay awhile and listen : The game must feature a complete story from its beginning to its end"

THE TEAM:

We are 5 french students in MBA Video Game Management at the IIM in Paris, 1 game designer, and 1 developer, reunited by our passion for the video games and challenges.

We hope you will take as much pleasure to discover our work as we took to make it. It was an incredible week-end spent with friends on something we really love.

Cheers !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#115Overall(Jam)3.83
#122Innovation(Jam)3.75
#156Mood(Jam)3.73
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#207Fun(Jam)3.56
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#233Humor(Jam)3.24
#266Audio(Jam)3.47

Comments

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Very good!
I just dont like the audio, but that is taste (i hated loco roco ^^)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Wow. This is a really cool game. Kudos on a job well done!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Good entry! Mechanics work well, and the controls are responsive! Good job!

mat1er says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

It's so cute! And someway the end is awful...
But still, 5/5

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Game looks so cute, and that little "songs" that they are singing to each other is adorable c: The idea of their moves is interesting, cause they are coordinated with each other, I really like it.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:56pm

great game

pokipsy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Gameplay is really cool, simple and addictive !
Collisions would need some improvement, especially when a character is "crushed" by a platform, it results in very weird behavior.
I was able to finish the game (bug : got stuck on result screen, buttons doesn't work)
Congrats for this very good entry !

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Lovely presentation!

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

@pokipsy: We will update very quickly with a fix for those 2 bugs, the collision one might be a bit tricky

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Something is wrong with your host because I can't get either the web or windows page to open.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Very pretty game, the audio somewhat destroys the mood though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Really enjoyed this. I thought the puzzle parts were decent and then I got to the auto climber and my brain was fried. It was awesome!

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Cool! The music is nice, sound effects could've been better. Good job. I found that his happens if you get the blobs stuck on an elevator edge: http://puu.sh/lWJq4/18e93d4a37.jpg

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Nice game mechanics! Audio is good as well. Overall well made

doitle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Really well done completed game. The music and sounds are very good. The graphics suit the subject matter well. The puzzles are not difficult but aren't also trivial. That last level though was tough. Took me many tries to beat. I'd suggest putting this up on one of the Games portals like Kongregate or Armor, and maybe adding some more levels. I think people would enjoy playing this as a game and not just as a LD entry. I did have one weird glitch with the characters. I've got two gifs to show it:
http://imgur.com/a/eMR99

thelasthour says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31pm

The last level was so haaaard...
Great game. Loved how they sang a along to the background music. Really well done!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

This game has it all, characters that I care about, beautiful graphics and music, creative game mechanics. The best LD34 game I've played so far.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Great game! I only had problems with the controls because they're a bit difficult to learn. Keep up the good work!

5/5

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Looks incredibly polished. The gameplay is very innovative. Great stuff!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:23am

i could never get it to load...

StrehFox says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:24am

Super cute! Great use of the theme!

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:41am

@Ben Allen @davidcmcdonald I've added an Itch.io link for WebGL & Windows versions, it should be working even if it takes some time to load (the game is actually ~35mb due to music)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Excellent entry! I'm in love with the characters' sounds! The difficulty escalated too quickly, though! I had to replay several times one of the initial levels (don't know which one, since the level selection bugged). Also, the controlling keys were A and Z here, is that a bug? :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Great game! I loved the look and the sounds (though when they died it sounded exactly like the minions from Despicable Me, not sure if that was intentional). The controls were a little hard to get used to at first, but by the last level I had it down. That last level was tough! Great job.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:40pm

So cute! thanks for a wonderful game!

scorched says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Great game, last level feels out of place though, because it requires to act fast

crucknuk says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Excellente entrée plein de bonnes idées! Le concept pourrait être facilement exporté sur mobile. Réalisation impeccable, bien joué ! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]