Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Up!

by sergear - Jam Entry

Hello!
I and my wife made it 3 days and it is our first jam so do not judge us strictly.

On a distant planet, where life is just beginning arise, started life a lonely flower.

He was unlucky to be born, like his other brothers and sisters, under the warm rays of the sun (possible). The dark cave became his home, full of mysteries and dangers.

Help the flower will survive and grow up.

Are you ready?

Use arrows or A+D to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#30Theme(Jam)4.38
#119Graphics(Jam)4.22
#170Mood(Jam)3.69
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#398Fun(Jam)3.30
#750Innovation(Jam)2.77

Comments

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Very nice graphics! Game plays well and hits up both of the themes.

LavaGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I can't play it:/ Google Chrome can't run WebGL applets, Unity applets, Java applets and many more. Try adding a download link.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Fun game, and very pretty! The music was also good, as in it didn't really irritate me and when I noticed it I liked it. The controls could be better and sometimes you encounter situations that you can't avoid (like a worm crawling out of the wall and blocking of the path when rock thing is also floating down. Good job!

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Cute. But it seems that sometimes, obstacles cannot be avoided.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

That was cute

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Very impressive and innovative, stunning graphics, and fitting music choice to improve on the mood. Fun to play and addictive. A good deal of wacky things are thrown at you and you eventually learn how to avoid them. I'd imagine this would work well as a mobile game.

concalf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Love the aesthetics!
Some obstacles are a bit too fast to dodge :)

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Fits the theme very well and the overall feel of the game was wonderful, I loved the art style. The only annoying thing was bouncing balls... they always hit me before I could react.

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Really like the art!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Wonderful aesthetics, but the randomization of enemies is frustratingly difficult. So many impossible spots...

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Good work with both themes, and I really like the graphics. Good sound too!

Arowx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Nice Work. It worked fine for me in Chrome on PC.

_stice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Looks beautiful!

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Fits both themes very well! I love the graphics, very well done! I was never able to make it very far because of unavoidable situations causing me to die -- maybe I was missing something there.

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Too hard some time (not fair when you cannot see what's coming) but good mood and nice visuals!

rplnt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Nice graphics and music. Really like the overall look (except the font I guess :))
A bit hard (impossible?) to avoid some falling things.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03pm

soothing game. I like the atmosphere. Nicely done.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Sometimes obstacles can't be avoided but other than that really nice game!

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Nice game! very pretty. It is a bit frustrating how sometimes those purple things come straight out the blue and are impossible to dodge, but otherwise, really solid.

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Pretty fun game! It was a bit frustrating at times though, the physics screwed me over a few times and the hitboxes are too big in certain places (for example: http://i.imgur.com/hUM09Sy.png) The music/sound was pretty good. Overall a pretty good game :)

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

It's a bit frustrating to have an unavoidable pellet fall down and instakilling you, but nice game overall!

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Congratulations on this first jam!
It was a little hard for me to survive while climbing the cave, but overall looks very good. :)

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Really nicely crafted; the sound, speed and visuals work really well together. Enjoyed it!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Damn... I did a similar game and you did it 10 times better ! ;) Great game. Love the whole thing !

sergear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Thank you very much for your comments!
Sorry for some bugs and difficulties. If there would be more time to balance it better :D

sergear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Steering updated, stone improved, also added windows downloadble build.

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Gorgeous graphics, nice music. Well done! Items come down a bit fast sometimes, leaving you no time to react. Still plays very well though.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Game's very nice-looking, but the obstacles often can't be avoided, the suns and purple balls fall far too quickly giving no reaction time. And the obstacles sometimes hide behind others, again giving no reaction time.
Core gameplay is solid, though (if frame-droppy at times), I just can't get past a few tens of points and level 1.

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Nice music. Simple nice and moody game play. Well done!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54pm

I think you need to play my entry, it will be like looking in a pixelated mirror :)

Not to repeat the crowd but loved the graphics and thought the audio really fit well with it. Agree about the impossible spots but I have similar ones in mine so it would be hypocritical to complain to much.

Pusty says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Looked amazing! Sounded amazing! Overall amazing!

dusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:15pm

heh.. similar idea :)
very nice graphics and music.. has nice mood..

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Very clean graphics, nice use of both themes.

tGiant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54am

I really love this game.
The art style is fantastic and the game play is simple enough.
Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16am

I had exactly the same idea for a growing plant when i first saw these 2 themes.
So what can i say, awesome idea :))
And nicely executed :D

Morco (Tyrants-Not-Found team)

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29am

Really cool use of lighting

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

Good stuff you two! :) Works well with both themes. The graphics are nice, but your colors are really well done. I think the colors work incredibly well here. It isn't terribly innovative but it was enjoyable to play nonetheless. :)

pedrorossa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I can't feel what is enemy and what not.
But is a prety and cool game, congrats.

Madball says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Graphics, music and the style in general is great. Gameplay is fun, too, but hitboxes need to be more clear. Also, sometimes the cave generation makes a complete dead end.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

This game is so beautiful! Good job!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19pm

God theme execution. I like it.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Great use of both the themes. Good graphics and I enjoyed the gameplay. It's sometimes impossible to avoid some of the objects though. A very well polished game.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Nice job, good concept & fun to play :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:02pm

I like the graphics - that's one lovely color palette! :)
The game itself is quite frustrating at times since there is no way of avoiding some obstacles.. some collision issues here and there - but then again it pushes you to play more and try to get a "good draw" :)
Unfortunately didn't manage to get past Level 1 (but tried hard).

Also - you must be very brave people to use Comic Sans ;)

Polith Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Very cool game. The growth mechanics are pretty cool. Good job!

Pleirlat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Nice color palette and graphics.
The mechanics ok, but the collision fail sometimes.

I hope you develop more the mechanics to mobile!

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:58pm

The graphics are cool! The gameplay is tough though, and it's not always clear, what I can pickup and what will kill me

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Beautiful graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]