Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chicken In Restaurant

by antag99 - Compo Entry

S T O R Y
You're a chicken running loose from the kitchen.

C O N T R O L S
A - Move Left
D - Move Right

T E C H
Java - Programming language
LibGDX - Game development framework
Retinazer - Entity-component-system implementation
GIMP - 2D graphics editor
Spine - Skeletal animation software
Audacity - Audio recording/editing software
Logic Pro X - Music creation software

R U N N I N G
Requires Java 6 or newer.

C H A N G E L O G
Version 0.1.1:
- Bugfixes (music overlapping, memory leaks, ghost food)
Version 0.1.0:
- Initial release

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

AlexLemminG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Kinda fun, but not much things to do

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

I feel a little drunk but well fed now.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Awesome game, I loved the ending.

sausage_squad says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:20pm

chicken ate until he died:
5/7

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:39pm

I like the graphics and it's a solid game but maybe it is too simple. Great work!

eerongal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Interesting game. Might be neat with a goal or something, or someway to "lose". Like the graphics. Nice work!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Nice and simple, it may need some more features but it's still fun.

ac7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:35am

I like this game a lot and I'm not sure why.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]