Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Santa's Little Grower

by Erlend Aakre - Jam Entry

Christmas survival horror, help Santa by growing trees to cleanse the island of evil.

WebGL
=====
Fullscreen recommended.
Click game once started to have it capture the mouse cursor (press escape to get the cursor back).


INSTRUCTIONS
============
Your task is to grow 5 Christmas trees (get seeds from chest near Santa's cabin).

Walk over one of the 5 highlighted spots (brown squares) to plant a tree (these spots are all on the second island, not the safe and festive island you start on).

When you plant a tree, snowmen will spawn. Don't let them touch you, they will not follow you across the bridge to the first island, and if you pick up a stack of logs you can press 'E' or LMB to drop down a fire that lasts for 30 seconds and will kill the snowmen.


NOTE
====
Models are not created by me, those were purchased on the unity asset store. Most of my work was tweaking shaders and getting it all to look nice together.

The game was updated the day after release with a better instruction screen and some webgl optimization.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#125Mood(Jam)3.81
#346Graphics(Jam)3.74
#432Humor(Jam)2.78
#492Audio(Jam)3.05
#732Overall(Jam)3.09
#829Fun(Jam)2.74
#894Innovation(Jam)2.51
#998Theme(Jam)2.76

Comments

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31am

The webgl version didn't catch my mouse properly, but interesting game.

dekart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31am

Wow, that's a very impressive piece of work done in short time! I didn't manage to find a tree seed, but liked the mood and lots of minor details.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33am

Very atmospheric!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

Early version did not catch mouse pointer properly, but managed to fix it during the extra hour :).

The seeds can be collected from the chest with the glowing green particles, it's right next to the cabin.

Wandermayer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44am

Scariest Christmas game i've ever played!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Wow, pretty impressive atmosphere and graphics! Didn't really catch the main goal in the first try, but really nice. Also, your snowman really scared me :(

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Unfortunately I just finished in time, so the instructions could definitely have been better. I've updated the description at least.

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Great game, very impressive for three days work, especially the graphics and atmosphere. If there's one piece of advice I have, it's one that you probably know already but just didn't have time to do anything about. That is, people judging Ludum Dare entries do not read instructions, *ever*. Even if sometimes they do, this is a good rule of thumb to work by.

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

Mouse controls seemed a bit laggy, but I really like the art style. Nice work!

piper82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:19am

impressive work, enjoyed it.

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57am

Great game! And nice 3D models!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:00am

woops didn't read instructions...:(

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14pm

I've now replaced the Instructions with simplified / more user friendly one, as well as built the webGL player with a more optimized quality setting.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:11pm

moody game, good atmosphere and visuals. I didn't know how many seeds I was supposed to plant, there was no goal indicator.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:54pm

damn, I knew I forgot something... Will definitely update the post-compo version to have goal tracking. You need to plant FIVE trees btw.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Wow those snowmen are terrifying! Great little game could do with background music as the sound of wind makes it feel a bit empty.

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Get me the creep... all those chrimsas decoration and alone with this windy sound...
Nice game !

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Whoa whoa whoa who put Satan's snowmen on this game?!

Well, it's a good game, my only concern was the controls. The bonfire button was a bit buggy for me, as it is active all times. As soon as I pick a log, I put a fire. But I don't know if it's a problem on my end.
But other thing that really blew the gameplay it's the 360º limited mouse rotation. If I reach one complete turn, I have to turn to the other side, and not continue turning on the same side like any FPS I'm used to play.

But, overall, is a good game and, damn, those snowman are scary!

Tacohej says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Yay, i sawed christmas! :D

Good job making this game. I think, like most other people here, that the mood and the graphics (taking into account the time) is the best thing about the game. I overall really enjoy christmas games with snowy landscapes and this one was no exception. Some aspects of the game was also surprisingly fun, for example getting chased by the evil snowmen (the they made did a big difference) was a lot of fun.

Pros:
- Sound design - definitely got you in the right mood.
- Graphics - even though you didn't make it yourself you assembled it nicely.
- Christmas theme! :D

Cons:
- I think that you could have done a better job with the mechanics and the actual game play. Maybe work a little bit more with the theme in order to develop som unique aspects to the game? What happen for me was that I was just running around trying to find all the logs.
- I would like the snowmen to be a little bit slower, now it is impossible to outrun them.

Overall though, a great jam game!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Muel: No idea what went wrong for you, did you use the webgl (browser) player? or did you download the game?

The game definitely has a normal (rotate as much as you want) mouse control like in most FPS games, and I've never seen the fire drop unless 'e' or the left mouse button was pressed.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Tacohej: Thanks for saving Christmas (and your feedback), I would definitely have loved to have more time to add more and tweak existing game mechanics.

The logs are not strictly necessary, you should be able to outrun the snowmen (they are slightly slower than you), but only if you run forwards (thus forcing you to have to turn your back on them and not just back paddle / strafe)

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

WebGL doesn't make the game justice (too laggy). But I downloaded and I can tell it's fun. I got what you say by the trauma of snowman, haha. Pretty creepy, the sounds are well used for making the player scared. I had problems with the mouse too, I needed to ALT+TAB once, then it didn't catch my mouse again, but I played till the end. Nice touch with the log places. Although it's not very clear where to go. But I did enjoyed the game. The gifts in the end were nice too. Haha. Good job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Moody game - good atmosphere and visuals. It seems to me that I know this creature, but I cannot remember where...
Overall, it's a really good entry. Well done ++

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Well, there isnt much gameplay, a little mini game or so would be nice, great atmosphere

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

3d graphic is enjoyable! but I fell out of terrain a lot of time :) atmosphere is goooood!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:50am

Really liked the level design and atmosphere. Felt Christmassy and creepy, good job.

emmes says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:25am

Wow, scary!
Very dense athmosphere, though it took a while until I found the logs (and even the seed, silly me). The theme only fits loosly, though.

Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Really scary Christmas game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/PXolvG1P7M4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]