Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mutation

by Ethan Allwood - Compo Entry

DESCRIPTION
You must shoot and kill the monsters attacking you. Every time you kill a monster, it will grow and mutate into something bigger and stronger. Once you kill the last monster, it will split into 2 smaller ones which will then grow like the earlier ones.

SUGGESTIONS
On the third monster, hit it as fast as you can to push it back
On the fifth monster, keep your distance and let it come to you, don't go to it

CONTROLS
Use C and V to move left and right
Press both together to shoot
The longer you hold the two buttons, the farther the bullet will go, and the more damage it will cause.

POINT SYSTEM
You will get 100, 200, 500, 1000, 3000, or 10000 per kill.
Each bullet will cost you 1 point so longer shots with higher damage are better.

Get it on Google Play!
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.EthanAllwood.Mutation

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#233Theme4.00
#271Mood3.29
#351Graphics3.34
#363Overall3.38
#410Audio2.79
#433Innovation3.22
#575Fun3.03
#590Humor2.11

Comments

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:32am

Cool game, but I think should be a little faster

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

Nice work with those graphics! Like the controls too

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

I really like the graphics, very cute and subtle!
Feels pretty polished. Great work! :)

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39am

Clever use of the theme! Nice game

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

not bad dude, I really like the theme for some reason

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

Nice Theme use, the graphics are good also

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43am

I very much like the graphics, crazy.

The gameplay leaves something to want, the first few monsters were very easy and then it spiked up. Couldn't avoid his attacks but maybe I just suck :S

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Fun and nice looking graphics, but the player moves a little too slow imo. Good work though

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

The controls work quite well. The monster I find becomes less complex over time and slowly becomes shoot the most shoots as fast as possible.
Nice work.

elizeu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03am

very interesting!! I remembered the atari games, simple, a bit confused because of the simplicity but addictive! very good use of the theme!

PanDoes says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

The controls were great, but the difficulty spike when the guy grows arms is absurd. my score was 1694, BEAT THAT.

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Cool game, but after I while I just died to that boxer, over and over again. Dislike the blurred font. Overall good job!

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I gave up after 3-4 tries because it was really annoying having to re-kill all the easy monsters to get to the hard part. It would be much better if it was more like levels, and when you die, you could try again with the same mutation. I want to try different strategies on that one hard monster. The huge mutation on screenshot looks pretty epic.

I like your use of the themes though.

TiByte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

It is very hard, but very good too. Nice work.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:57am

The concept is very interesting, simple and efficient. This is good little experience. I died at 1638.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Super idea, and even in a theme famously hit. At Mobil would play, it would be great.

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:43pm

view is impecably small. controls are clunky but once you get used to them they are fun. really liked the audio. overall pretty good

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Nice game, cool interpretation of the theme, one monster that grows in ability over time. That sixth one was brutal though, I thought the 5th one was the last one, but nope. :P Got to 4543, tough little game. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]