Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Plant 6000

by RovingSquid - Jam Entry

Space Plant 6000 floats alone in space, trying to catch enough light particles to grow and prosper. But the Space Slugs and Propeller Beasts find his Flowers and Stems a tasty treat! Space Plant's only protection is his Green Mushroom Shields! Can you help Space Plant collect the matching light particles and protect him from Space Monsters?

----------------------------------------------------------

The Controls are pretty simple, considering the challenge. Left Arrow or A rotates him Counter-Clockwise, Right Arrow or D rotates him Clockwise. Use the flowers to collect matching light particles, use the green mushroom to block enemies (Stems don't count!). If all your flowers die, or a monster hits your Root Ball, you lose!

(MUSIC CAN BE MUTED FROM THE MAIN MENU, OR BY PRESSING F6)

----------------------------------------------------------

(PLEASE NOTE, TWITCH.TV Integration is OPTIONAL but MAKES THE GAME MUCH MORE FUN!)

A big feature of this game is something I've wanted to build into a game for a while, Twitch.tv integration. Once you set up the game to connect to your twitch channel, viewers will be able to type commands into chat to spawn monsters or light particles. This adds a whole level of difficulty (or ease, depending on your viewers!) and interaction.

(You may want to post this somewhere on twitch or something....)

Twitch.tv viewers Can Type The Following Commands In Chat:

To Spawn Particles
!blue
!red
!yellow
!purple
!white

To Spawn Enemies
!prop
!slug

----------------------------------------------------------
Windows version fully tested, the Mac and Linux version have been put here, but they HAVE NOT BEEN TESTED AT ALL... very likely there are a few issues on those versions....
----------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Innovation(Jam)4.13
#71Theme(Jam)4.26
#193Mood(Jam)3.65
#225Humor(Jam)3.26
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#331Fun(Jam)3.39
#382Audio(Jam)3.27
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I really liked the graphics in this game, feels like something from the early 2000s (I mean that positively!). The ringing sound that is always present gets quite annoying, but otherwise the sound effects are enjoyable and fun. The music, while good, got repetitive quite fast. The gameplay itself is easy to get, but hard to master. The controls are fluid though. It was interesting to see what kinds of different flowers you could get. And the Twitch integration is an interesting feature, one I have never seen before. Good work!

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Music was kind of repetitive, graphics where really good, an innovative concept. Was the twitch thing an afterthought, or did you plan that from the start?

smealum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34am

twitch integration is a ton of fun !

nodens says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31am

Had a lot of fun playing this through Twitch. Great work :D

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31am

Loved the twitch integration! You had our whole room screaming at each other for help while our friends just sent splace slugs at us over and over. Really cool idea and tons of fun. Thanks for making this!

Robber says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:10pm

cool game! my first tactic was to just spin like crazy, but then came the monsters and the shield and i had to adjust my playstyle..I wish controls were a bit less smooth and more direct..very nice entry!

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:55am

This is really awesome! Excellent job. I wish I had more of a twitch presence to just have random people play. I'm going to keep this around and try and get some friends together and play this with me via twitch. Anyway, great game!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Liked the game, fits both themes well.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Game gets pretty crazy once you grow your first mushroom (and although I didn't get to test the twitch integration, it's probably going to be a bit more insane by my guess) but this was such an addictive entry, it's hard to actually stop (Although to be fair I had to swap the controls around as they kind of reversed to me).

Stending says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Wow! Awesome visuals, mood, concept!
Can't believe you made that in 72h!
I wasn't able to test the twitch feature, but it looks like a great add to the game!
Congratulations!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:54pm

The sounds were monotonous and annoying after a while, the gameplay was not well balanced as it could take a long time for the color you need to start dropping and by then a monster might be coming. A system for drops that is more dynamic would be needed.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

kardfogu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Both themes nailed at the same time is a good start.
It gets even better with the consistent and stylish graphic - hits the nostalgy-meters - and the sounds fit well too. One of the sounds is a lil' bit annoying thoe, but not that much.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]