Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

All Hail Hair

by Aerohand - Compo Entry

Try to grow more hair!
Use your current hair to gain more in the future!
Also try to find the 6 different achievements during playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#24Humor3.97
#349Audio2.93
#540Innovation3.07
#607Mood2.79
#703Fun2.83
#759Theme3.33
#808Graphics2.40
#877Overall2.67

Comments

Linkigi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02am

I like where this is going. I had to get that random surgery option and I was not disappointed when I did. I like the 'hand-made' audio too. It emphasizes the quirkiness of the game.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Really loved the audio, it fits the visuals well for some weird reason. I did not see any hair grow, so I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I got 2 achievements("play this boring shit for 1 minute" and "bad gamedesign" or something)!

Also next time try to make a WebGL build, so everyone can use their default browser ;)

krashja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I Played for 800+ seconds, its funny ;) haha

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:56pm

It was unclear what was going on most of the time, but it gave us some laughs. I weirdly liked it!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:29am

hahahaha ……

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:53am

Pretty funny :)

Ludic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:25am

WTF, what is this man? this weird and creep voice acting, all this non sense and this ugly guy with his ugly face and all this achivments, what is going on. I like so much 10/10!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:30am

haha thank u guys!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:40am

Such a good idea !
I liked how you bring that cookie clicker thing to a double theme like this one !

Even if you can basically spam repetitively z and x for 300 seconds and then let you computer away for some hours :D

Nice game !

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:50am

Interesting take on a clicker game, I felt the lack of information made it quite tedious. I didn't know how my investments were affecting the game, so all I could do is just mash randomly. Should have been able to see a definitive view of rate of growth, for example.

The presentation is super quirky and interesting. 800 seconds for me too to get to random surgery. Guess that's about the same for everyone.

Puberty Simulator?

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:56am

Achievement Unlocked: You have nose hair.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:05am

hahha! that's a crack up! :) brilliant audio too!

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:13am

Ya know, I really don't like christmas. I mean, it was too many years seeing the same things: Santa, those bell sounds, the same musics...

But your game IS nice. The ingame music featured the little chimes and the "stage clear" music had a bit of a traditional season music, but it felt original and well made.

From something old and cliché that I'm fed up, you made something new and good.
The other game OST that achieved this was Ragnarok Online. That game approaches christmas like this too, taking some of the old stuff and mixing with something new that goes well together.

Nice job, grats!

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:18am

WHOA SORRY, I just commented on the wrong game hahahahahahahahahahahaha
I'm so dumb xD

I was playing another game and reviewed on your page. I was playing while yours loads.
I'll play and review it, then I'll drop by.

Muel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:31am

Now commenting about the right game

Another one with mouth sound and music.
It's so damn funny! I ROFL evrytiem xD

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:29am

Quickly added the notification of the growing rate of each kind of hair. Hope this helps xD!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:58am

DUANG!!! hahahaha

pokipsy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Ahahah made me laugh a lot. Thanks for this magic moment !

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:36am

Art looks simple but the face animation is actually very good.

I didn't have a clear idea of what I was doing the whole game xD

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:56am

Hilarious! :)

ploy says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Humor and audio are great, but there's no visual for the hair growing :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]