Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nomnivore

by Jelinib - Jam Entry

RECOMMENDED BUILD: Windows
It looks the least messed-up there. On HTML5/WebGL, text is a little stretched. Mac/Linux, I have no idea. Let me know if I messed anything up.
=====================================================
CONTROLS
=====================================================
Controls are unnecessarily difficult because I decided to do both themes, for better or for worse. So you can only move by pressing two buttons at a time. WHICH ARE:

A + JKIL to move
S + JKIL to attack
S + A to mate (in the adult situations specified below)

In other words, JKIL are your directional pointers of sorts, and A and S are more like modifiers to determine what action you'll do in that direction.

Does it feel a bit like patting your belly and rubbing your head at the same time? I mean rubbing your belly and patting your head? I mean you know what I mean. Whatever. SUFFER

=====================================================
WTF IS GOING ON IN THIS GAME?
=====================================================
You start off as a Babbivore. You are also hungry. Attack grass to rip it out of the ground and eat it. Attack trees to knock fruits out (maybe) and eat them. I wouldn't advise going after the other creatures at the very beginning of the game.

Eat enough stuff, and you grow into a Midbabbivore. Which is basically a bigger blob. You feel a little stronger than you were when you were a Babbivore. But you're still hungry. Eat more.

After that, you become a Bigbabbivore. You have leg-stumps but don't quite know how to use them. You're still hungry. But CAN YOU FEEL THE POWER GROWING WITHIN YOU? Eat more.

With persistence, you will eventually become an grownup-somethingvore. Depending on whether you ate grass, fruit, or meat the most, you will evolve into a Grassivore, Frutivore, or Meativore respectively.

As an adult, if you want to continue growing stronger, you have to find a similar species and make hearts fly out of them. How? Hold S+A near them for like, 10 seconds, i.e., until they produce an egg.

You can attack the egg if you want, but you'll only get 1 meat out of it. What you really want to do is BECOME ONE WITH THE EGG to be REBORN ANEW! And you can once again add to your stats that you can't see. And then you go back to hell again. I mean start out as a Babbivore again.

By the way, you may have noticed that you change colors as you grow. If you are certain color, that's an indicator that you are getting a 30% stat bonus associated with that color.

Grass -> green -> HP
Fruits -> blue -> Speed
Meat -> red -> Attack

Also try not to die if you're in the later stages of growth, especially as an adult. When you die, you get kicked back to Babbivore stage without getting a chance to add in stat points. That's bad. Worse if you were really close.

So why would you even want to bother with this tedious cycle of growth? Wellllllllllllll...

=====================================================
OBJECTIVE OF THE GAME
=====================================================
I guess kill that cyclops dragon like 32 units away from you in both directions. He's like, got a crown, and like, thinks he's the king of the forest, and stuff. Uh-uh! Can't have none o' that! Because YOU'RE the true king of the forest, right? You should go get that crown and then see the half-assed "win" message because I ran out of time.

Congratulato.

=====================================================
Lamentations of the Novice
=====================================================
RIGHT OFF THE BAT
<**pretend this all has the that strikeout line through it**>
The UI is all skewed as hell, and apparently stuff I haphazardly hid 1000 units off to the side is visible in these stretched-ass builds, so please don't hit fullscreen. I did not have this problem testing it in the Unity Editor (proper aspect ratios, and full size too), but I looked at both the HTML5 and Windows builds just now, and IT DOES NOT LOOK THE SAME AT ALL. MAY I CHOKE SOMEONE? GAAAAAH I am using Unity 5.3, if this happens to be a known problem.</**pretend this all has the that strikeout line through it**>
For some reason the stretch-to-all-edges thing totally wonks up on builds even if "Preserve Aspect" is checked. I admit that I don't fully understand Unity's UI/Canvas thing. Lessons learned! The game looks a little less like crap now--keyword: "a little."

I was going to try for the compo, but as the deadline approached, it was clear I wasn't going to make it.
So this is now a Jam entry. I was constantly adding stuff all the way towards the end, and didn't quite have enough time, so nothing is fully tested. I think I accidentally spent too much time on making sprites. In the last few hours, I crammed in the sound. I'm sorry if the music gets annoying. But yeah, it feels pretty bad to have to build and upload stuff without knowing how functional (and fun) the entire thing actually is in a full playthrough.... and then you find that YOUR WORST FEARS CAME TRUE. >:|

ANYWAY

butts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#293Humor(Jam)3.06
#366Graphics(Jam)3.71
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#466Audio(Jam)3.11
#483Mood(Jam)3.25
#522Theme(Jam)3.67
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00am

This was adorable! Loved the animations and watching my little buddy grow. Movement speed was a little slow for my tastes but other than that I enjoyed my time :)

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

Dog murder setting you back to square one really took it out of me... a little too slow moving for a complete reset.

Vosvek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34am

Quite an entertaining little game. It gives me a Gameboy Color Pokemon nostalgia, and really makes me wish for a retro hunting/survival game made in a similar manner.

The art is fantastic, and the music is great (though it gets repetitive very quickly).

I feel the controls would have been better if just JKIL was used to walk, and A + JKIL made your character sprint (though, some form of stamina would need to be implemented). Regardless, I definitely feel the two-button control theme/limitation doesn't do the game justice.

Additionally, I think it would have been helpful to see some kind of progress bar that displays how long it will take to grow/evolve.

Overall, I enjoyed it, and I sincerely hope you continue developing games! :D

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

Good use of the theme to see your creature evolve. The control scheme was a little wacky. I never really got used to it. Movement was a little too slow for me and made me lose interest a little too quickly. Good art, but the music was a little grating to me after a while.

dlowe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:18am

Graphics and sound were adorable, and established the mood nicely. Loved your spin on "2-button controls". Thanks for the game!

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21am

The game feels a bit cumbersome since it's so hard to catch any of the creatures if you wish to kill them, and there's sort of a delay to any action you make. Otherwise, it's a neat idea and can be quite fun once you get the hang of it. I liked the graphics & animations too :). The control system was easy to get used to, and it's a very original approach to the two button theme.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32am

I AM THE KING OF THE JUNGLE!
https://gyazo.com/2f5660ef5fbb79b17ee0d416eff21013
Now, can you give me my time back please? :D
This was amazingly addictive and relaxing. Had to kill the dragon, killed the dragon, would do again.
Great game if you aren't put off by the tempo.

Jelinib says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Thanks for the thoughts and feedback so far guys! Even though I didn't get to refine everything to my satisfaction, it's always very helpful for me to learn about how others experience the game, so I can see where I should take it and where glaring problem areas are! Keep 'em coming!

@timtipgames
I am wholly impressed with your perseverance! While I cannot refund your time (it's already spent, sorry), I think your efforts are at least worth a trophy. Enjoy the new 64x64 image on your profile page! I also audibly clapped for you even though nobody could hear it. Thanks for playing and actually sticking to it! :)

eerongal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:38am

A bit slow paced, but seems like it could be a fun game. Nice work!

Shivur says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:39am

Interesting concept!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:33am

thank you for that trophy! Not only did I kill the dragon, I also have something to put on my shelf to show for it! :)
Also thank you for playing and rating my game.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Really liked the art style and the music, although personally I would have liked to have been a bit faster than the food I was trying to eat. Chasing it for days was a bit tedious.

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Cool little game, very relaxing. :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Game is comfy. Like as soon my mind melds with the controls, and I grasp evolving, mating, and stats I knew exactly what I had to do. spd > hp > atk was my goal. I'm still playing, but I knew that I really do enjoy this game.

Chill music, level grinding game-play I love, and pretty easy to grasp the situation once situated, and the presentation, good job. Looking forward to more games from you.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:25pm

I like the progression and the controls were unique.

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Interesting game concept. It's fun to play, fits the theme very well and I like the graphics very much. I think it would be nice if the other animals would try to attack the player.

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Interesting idea, like the gfx style :)

Jan 17, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/xIPr3jDQjJ0

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]