Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

growing snake

by SpiritJZL - Compo Entry

Hi, I am SpiritJZL, and this is my work for LD34. This my second try of ludum dare, I think my performance is better than last time:)

The theme is "two button controls" and "growing", and I decided to use both at begining, and then I thought about what to make for a long time……The final answer is the classic "snake".

But my snake is not a normal one. It grows without eating! And what it keeps eating is actually diet pills which can reduce its tails.

1.←→ or AD to control, the Dir of snake is not always the Dir of monitor!
2.Head grows 4/s, tail reduce 1/s, 1 gem will reduce 5 tails!
3. 1 gem +3 points, head cross body -1 point each time, the wall is untouchable!

Sorry for the big size as a snake game, maybe this is the weak point of UE4. As the compo rules goes, the rar pack contains the src, but may need UE4.10.1 to open it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#54Theme4.30
#330Fun3.35
#331Overall3.43
#464Humor2.40
#579Mood2.82
#665Innovation2.82
#672Graphics2.74
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35am

Nice twist on a classic! I like it!

crazya02 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

Classic snake with a neat twist. Cool idea!

ItsFrank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50am

Great execution, not as intuitive as you might think good job!

Enchae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32am

Really nice. Pretty easy to understand, and the sound was simple and pleasant.

I do think hitting your own body should've ended the game instead of the points thing because it adds more risk. (and I had a little bit of trouble resetting after dying)

Other than that, though, really nice twist. Solid entry.

SpiritJZL says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:42am

About the hit body, the reason I set it points is that when the body keeps growing, the head is easily surrounded by you body, and the game is ended in the begining.....
About restart, I forgot to say that the game will restart automatically 1s after dead

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Interesting and fun game!

greenscreen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Very nice idea of changing classic snake. I love that sci-fi/psychedelic style. The best thing in this game is sound. It is soooo creepy.

SpiritJZL says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I didn't have time to make a bgm, only got sound effect done, so I didn't open the audio rate...Now the audio seems well liked, and I am so regret T_T

mockthebear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Loved the idea about the snake keeps growingg without doing anything!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]