Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Man

by PsycHead - Compo Entry

You are angry.
You don't know why.
Your anger grows.
You are...
..ANGRY MAN.
Channel your rage and defy gravity!

Control the Angry Man using the A- and D-keys. Space to jump, S to slide. Left mouse attacks.
If the Angry Man rages your controls are cut to two buttons...



Surprising how little 48 hours can be despite hacking everything from the beginning. Obviously I didn't manage to implement all planned features and assets, it's little of a game so far, yet I had a blast working on the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#36Graphics4.36
#45Humor3.83
#300Audio3.04
#329Mood3.19
#567Fun3.04
#617Innovation2.93
#625Overall3.07
#898Theme2.86

Comments

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:45pm

The art is super goood! But I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do, so I just walked everywhere where I could go and beat up the red dudes in my rage. :D

PsycHead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Indeed, sadly that's all you can do. This was my first LD and I had no time in the end to properly create and polish levels.

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

it's quite funny :) the aim is not super clear but that's all right, what bothered me more was the complexity of the control, does it really need so many buttons ?

TsFreddie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23pm

It is a creative way to get around with the theme. But at the same time, it is risky since there are more than two buttons most of the time. I think the control could be cut down a little further.

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Fun game, the art in this game was super creative and great! It wasn't really clear what the goal or the gameplay was about, but overall it was an enjoyable experience.

Well done, solid work!

Jynshi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I liked the style it has. I really like drawn art!

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Hahaha this games so funny! Loved the art work and sound!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

I really like how when he rages the controls are narrowed to two, I also really like the art style, the layers of art on graph paper!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48am

I got angry listening to that cell phone sound haha, nice hand drawn style! Graphics were my favorite part.

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58pm

The game looks so cool! I freaking LOVE the art-style! It's also pretty fun to rampage through town and just beat everyone down :P

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57am

I love the handmade art! The gameplay was pretty decent, but there were too many times that I was not in control of the character (rage moments).

ps. I also hate babies

pss. Next time make a WebGL build, so everybody can pay it in their default browser ;)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:37am

The goal of the game is not very clear to me. I also don't particularly like that you have no control when you are in rage mode. I think even just a little control is necessary in that moment. Critiques aside, I really love the art style. Definitely something unique in games. I also think the concept is very funny!

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Awesome! I loved the graphic, It took me a while to reallize that I was supposed to hit the red ones :-) great job!

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Got stuck a lot just raging infinitely between two points and a baby carriage. Really nice art, animations and effects, but gameplay not playtested enough.
(probably a time-issue, LD forces us to really try and make a balanced investment)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]