Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Millenium Fist

by AzureAspect - Jam Entry

Millenium fist is your basic key smasher game where you get to beat someone up!
You play as Kalle, who is being bullied by Masa. Masa has great advantage against you since he has so much mass. Mass equals to power right?
Kalle however...has had enough, he trains hard and plans on getting his revenge on Masa. Its up to you to show how hard Kalle did actually train

Controls:
left fist & continue = 'z'
right fist & skip = 'm'

Code & Voice acting: AzureAspect
Graphics: Panda

PS. Remember to post your score so we can see who has the best millenium fist ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#633Audio(Jam)2.65
#739Graphics(Jam)3.02
#920Theme(Jam)3.04
#921Fun(Jam)2.59
#981Mood(Jam)2.22
#1025Innovation(Jam)2.04
#1073Overall(Jam)2.47

Comments

VascoF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

"404 Not Found" error when I tried the link.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Good concept, I think it could have been expanded maybe with a couple more enemies. If there were any, the game didn't take me to them.

Graphics were cool, I liked them

Nice job!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

There is only one stage in the game. (didnt have time to make more, wished to include the kidnapper as beatable enemy but...maybe next time!)

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Score was: 13615.27 :D (Combo 103 and 12.875 hits/second)
Fun little game. :)
Just a sidenote. Did you mean scatter instead of shatter? Because that's pronounced differently.

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Pretty quick and fun game. The artstyle is really awesome!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45pm

6500, am I a true millennium-fist-wielder? haha simple but fun game :)

Linkigi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:45pm

16497.12
Short and satisfying. A good combo. The voice over definitely added to the experience ^^

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

404 Not Found is back.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Really awesome graphics and cool audio, both have a great effect. Short and simple, but really well done. The only critique would be the space between keys z and m, if you have smaller hands like me and would need to use both hands for a faster effect hit rate.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Punched bully twice to the face, bully died.

10/10 would Millenium Fist again.

...but in all seriousness, this is a nice, albeit short game.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Poor Masa! Cool game.

Pusty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Score was: 12724 (Combo 100 and 12.5 hits per secound)
Looked fun! :D

Reisen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50pm

ORAORAORAORAORA

Score: 15768.42 / Combo: 103 / HPS: 12.875 (Same combo and HPS as someone else here, not sure why score is different)

Though fun, there's not much of a game here. Maybe provide a losing cutscene if score is less than a treshold value?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:04pm

To simple, but funny)

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Answers to some questions:
Did you mean scatter instead of shatter?
- Well, its supposed to be shatter, my english skills just suck :P

The only critique would be the space between keys z and m, if you have smaller hands like me and would need to use both hands for a faster effect hit rate.
- That was the wanted effect actually. People should smash their keyboards with both hands

Same combo and HPS as someone else here, not sure why score is different
- short answer: you get more score based on hit amount & how much difference you had between hits. So for example if you can make insane combo in 3 seconds then it will net very high score

PuddleOfWater says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29pm

When the button mashing started, the game sounded like thunder and an intense fight scene from an anime! xP

Score: 34751.16
Combo: 141
Hits/Second: 17.625

fistmaker says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Interesting concept and a good take on the theme controls. Pretty easy, not really much there to play.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I would have liked the text to be in the bubble as well as more stages.

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Beating the crap out of a fat kid? Sign me up!
Seriously though, this game is just another button smasher. Games are more fun when they're challenging.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Finnish Manga: good. Beating up and apparently killing a defenseless foe who doesn't even try to fight back: less so. Art is good.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Hah fun short game, reeaaly reminds me of Fist of the Northstar (just watch this clip xd) https://youtu.be/-_ZeD40Rg8A?t=39

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:14pm

5422.507! My hand co-ordination is quite bad though. It's a decent concept but I think there could have been more to it. Also I felt a bit weird brutally beating a character to death that didn't even fight back? Maybe there could have been some like counter attacks where you had to hit a specific side or combination or something. There is potential here for a neat sort of Punch-Out style game or something.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:16pm

404 error

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Pro:
+ Simple but fun concept/story
+ Nice audio and graphics
Con:
- A bit short... Maybe if I could avenge Masa
- Some more strategy beside key smashing would be nice

Score: 17760.97
Combo: 119
Average: 14.875

Great job!

Dracir says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

96 hits
13666 score... ends with 666 so it's good right ?

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Interesting game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

rzuf says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Your score was: 0.03953354
Your combo was: 1
Average hits/second: 0.125

Still won.
Master Saitama would be proud.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]