Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Webhacking with two buttons

by crafteverywhere - Jam Entry

BROTHER died today. Or, maybe, yesterday; I can't be sure.
But I can only sure he keep a secret hidden in his computer.
Maybe a secret in relation to his disappearance and many other mysterious events.
I should try to find the truth.

Tips: Sometimes you can try the back button of your browser.

A puzzle web game made in 72 hrs for ludumdare 34.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Innovation(Jam)3.68
#348Mood(Jam)3.42
#375Humor(Jam)2.89
#651Overall(Jam)3.18
#718Fun(Jam)2.91
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#828Theme(Jam)3.26
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

gv1351 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Interesting game

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06pm

There's a lot of content here. Interesting use of real web tech to make something like this too. I did get stuck when asked to input the numbers on the wall... thankfully you've screenshotted the happy end though :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

@hexagore :D The gameplay is somehow lack of necessary guidance for now. Try to use the command such as on, off, use, take in the input box.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42am

I'm a hacker. It's sad though that you put in screen with ending. I don't like spoilers (it won't change my opinion on game of course ;-))

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

very intelligent and interesting i love it! congrats!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Good cognitive game, it's nice to solve riddles.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Really good! But after spending a lot of time looking for the numbers, I gave up and looked into the source code. Still no idea how I should have found them and why the Caesar cipher was relevant.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:47am

@eemmbbeerr Try to notgoogle what you found on the wall, and send the morse codes, then you will find out a new world! I will post the solutions later for those want to know the answers but dont want to spend too long time.

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Morse reminds me of the game easy opening XD. Awesome game Pretty good work !

rodobodolfo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Very interesting!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:55am

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]