Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

React!

by VersatileBox - Jam Entry

IMPORTANT: there's a known bug in the UI that happens randomly on some computers. It was a Unity bug and it's already fixed (but not uploaded yet). Workaround: play in windowed mode.

As none of us is an actual nuclear engineer, we have no idea on how to turn off a nuclear reactor (unless you ARE a nuclear engineer and you're playing this because you're not allowed to play with the nuclear reactor in your work)

Two random letters in your keyboard turn off the reactor. When you press a correct button, one of the lights turns green.


Press both buttons at the same time to deactivate the reactor.

UPDATE (12/20/2015)
We fixed several bugs like the ones that caused the main menu to be a little unresponsive randomly on some computers. This was a Unity bug with screen resolution and, when it got patched, all the problems went away. Sorry about that.

Also, as different keyboards work in different ways and detect different amounts of keys at the same time, we added a "key limitter" to prevent everyone to press more than four letters at the same time.

Some players sent us impossible scores like 5:98. It is impossible as it takes 0.5 seconds for the reactor to be deactivated once you find the two buttons (that means perfect score would be 5:50). It turned out the game was extremely easily cheated using speedhackers or memory injectors. That’s why we added an anticheating system that has proven to be pretty good. We warn you: do NOT cheat, do NOT even try.

So, now all the players have the same possibilities, now cheating is gone, now it doesn’t matter whether you have a cheap or an expensive keyboard, we are introducing online highscores! Now top ten highscores are uploaded to our database and can be seen by everyone :)

We want to thank everyone who played and rated this game, to everyone who sent us feedback and to the youtubbers and the twitchers who showed this game in their channels. Thank you!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#111Fun(Jam)3.74
#152Overall(Jam)3.76
#174Humor(Jam)3.40
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#300Graphics(Jam)3.82
#350Theme(Jam)3.85

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Nice game

Polith Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Very nice graphics and mechanics! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Very fun :p

Zulgot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Wow crazy good graphics - really enjoyed this game :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Nice simple game, good fun to play and can be quite intense. Best I got was 4:60. So fun I managed to break my keyboard for about 10 minutes!

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Fun idea, haven't seen anything like it before.

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:45pm

This is great fun for being so simple! Great idea and implementation! Love it. :-)

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:19pm

That was great! Very fun and great use of the theme!

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:21pm

This is wonderful! :D

Super fun and engaging. Delightful game.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:57pm

It's a nice little frantic experience. I love the graphics and the slight bloom-effect is a pretty nice detail.

The gameplay is frantic and really captures the mood of the situation, though I would've liked a little more strategy to this as it kinda descended into a bit too random button mashing. Possibly something in the manner of the instruction-sheet from Keep Talking and Nobody Explodes, where you could actually read out certain tendencies and although hectic still deduce which direction it might go. I understand that might be a bit ambitious for the scope of a game jam, but I feel like something a little extra besides for the light might help.

Otherwise pretty nice game. Good job!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Thank you, Crashmore! We do know it falls into randomness and luck, but this is what we could do in two days and we are already working in updates. We already added online highscores (by popular demand). Less "random" gamemodes (and even multiplayer, maybe?) are in the work.

Thanks you and every person who reviewed this game!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:19am

That was brilliant. It would be cool to see if there is a way to expand on this concept.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Speechless, fantastic. Just wow.

Troma says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I always die. It's so hard!

lawendt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Good idea, but isn't a game that you can spend more than five minutes playing. The game is great in everything else tho!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:31am

I love how frantic of a game you've created. We were screaming at the screen trying to find the two buttons. At one point two of us were using the keyboard at once. You did a great job at inducing anxiety for sure. :) Also excellent use of theme. Thank you so much!

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:57am

so simple yet so creative, one of the best games that i rated so far!!

ajmalr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:35pm

The graphics are awesome, I think it could be really cool if you linked each keyboard key to a virtual button/switch in the game. And animated that virtual button/key when you press the corresponding button. You'd have the randomise what key links to what button but it could add some nice feedback.

Kepab says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:31am

Fantastic! The blaring warning sound really takes a hold of you and instills a sense of panic! Took me a fair many times to succeed even once. Possibly rather short-lived after played a few times, but magnificent nonetheless, and excellent concept for a busy jam.

I had to pretty much trial&error the Unity resolution options at startup to get the game displaying correctly, though.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:41pm

We know about that UI problem, but it wasn't our fault. It was a Unity problem in version 5.3 and it got patched in 5.3.1. We updated, recompiled the game as it was and all the problems went away. I'm uploading a new version right now!

Thanks for the review

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:06am

Hah that was really intense! It's really just the right amount of time to make it really difficult and stressful. It's such a simple idea but executed very well. I want to show this to my friends and see how much they freak out. :P

Nice job!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:23pm

This is so realistic - I die as I would in real reactor ;)

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:42am

Challenging! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/R1E0Ch1WcpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]