Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Runner

by mikedurn - Jam Entry

Dig Runner uses both "two button click" and "growing" themes. The goal of the game is to trap all of your opponents in the ground while avoiding enemy fire or trapping yourself. You have three lives. When you lose a life or start the game you gain a temporary shield for a few seconds. The levels go up to 30 and each level adds an enemy.

The two buttons are left and right click. Left clicking on an area highlighted in green will move your character there (you can move to spaces in the same row or column as your player). Right clicking on a space adjacent to you (not diagonal) will dig a hole in the ground. After three seconds, the grass will grow back, filling up the hole.

Controls (see above for specifics):
Left Click - Move
Right Click - Dig hole

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#533Overall(Jam)3.31
#587Fun(Jam)3.07
#738Theme(Jam)3.41
#798Graphics(Jam)2.86

Comments

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53am

I really enjoyed this one! It's interesting how much more, well, interesting, the game got as more characters got added. Once there was 4-5 of them I had a really good time dodging and trying not to corner myself. Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57am

I felt movement was a little awkward with only being able to move a square at a time and no diagonals. But overall pretty good!

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58am

Cool game! It'd be nice to be able to move with the keyboard, though - moving with the mouse wasn't super responsive.

It's really satisfying when you do manage to trap the enemies, though.

Hackbug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Good idea, i like it, it's a little bit difficult to start with the shifting, but after it's ok and fun :)

Nice animations !

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Good game, could have used some sounds / music :).
I liked the graphics and the gameplay very much. I had fun digging under those red guys :D.

dweebster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48pm

The game idea is brilliant think you could really expand it into something really good.

The controls felt a bit slow, especially if you want to dodge some bullets.

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Very good concept. Very difficult. The bad part is that most of the difficulty came from the controls.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great fun, but the control scheme can be frustrating.

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:09pm

heheh!! nice concept!! Love it... this could be something if developed properly...

Gyfis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Nice! Played several times already.

aemiliu5 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

brilliant!

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:39am

Interesting kinda-puzzley, lode-runnery idea. I hope you keep developing it further. Controls would basically allow it to run on mobile platforms too.

Big Cow says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:42am

Brilliant! Its an excellent idea and nicely executed. The animation of the characters is just great and the gameplay feels satisfying. Its like you are really in an areana fighting for your life: it made me think of Tron actually. Anyway nice entry for the compo!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]